Spiced Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I'm sure this is a delicious recipe if done right. Unfortunately, I must have goofed. I used pecan pieces instead of halves, because that's what I had, and followed the recipe exactly, even shaving 5 minutes off the time. My nuts burned and stuck to the foil - what a disappointment! I will try it again, but this time use parchment paper & maybe even a light cooking spray. I'll also experiment with lower temps and check frequently after 15 minutes. And I won't leave the kitchen and trust my husband to listen for the timer! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
love it, add more spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lucas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Definitely lower the temperature unless you enjoy burned nuts. Also, I recommend cutting the sugar and a touch more salt. These were so sweet it was difficult to taste anything besides burned nuts and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I did this 1 teaspoon kosher salt 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon 1/2 teaspoon dried ground orange peel 1 pound pecan halves 4 tablespoons unsalted butter 1/4 cup packed light brown sugar 2 tablespoons packed dark brown sugar 2 tablespoons water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Amazing! I love how there is no butter in this recipe. As suggested by others, I left out the cloves, cut down on nutmeg (personal preference) and beat the egg whites til only soft peaks which I think helped with coating the nuts. I used raw cane sugar (I ground it so it was finer like white sugar) and cut it down to just over half the amount and it was still sweet enough. Baked at 300, stirred every 10 minutes and it needed about 35 minutes total in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanaMustEat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
OhMyGodSoSoSoSoGood! Made these for Christmas dinner as a pre dinner snack... It's taking everything in me not to sit here and eat every last pecan in the bowl! Instead I had to sign up just to post a review. I added half a teaspoon of cayenne to the spice mix. You have to keep an eye on it and mix it every 6 minutes. They burn fast. Even still the slightly burnt ones taste amazing too. My husband actually said he could sit there eating the entire batch in one sitting and not even batt an eyelash or even pay attention to what's happening around him. I will be making these again-with the added cayenne. Thank you for this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This was a winner...I didn't have any nutmeg since I just made a bunch of Thanksgiving "stuff" so I added a splash of chili powder instead. The clove mixed with chili powder was a great flavor. I had to beat back the hungry mob (family) in order to have enough to fill my mason jars for Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
After reading many of the reviews, I made one change in the list of ingredients. Instead of 1 T. water, I substituted 1 t. vanilla. I made a few changes in the directions, resulting in perfect spiced pecans (no burning). Preheat oven to 250 degrees F (120 degrees C). Lightly grease a 10 x 15-inch jellyroll pan. In medium to large bowl, beat the egg white with vanilla until frothy but not stiff. Add the nuts, and stir until well coated. In a small bowl, mix the sugar, salt, cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg, and sprinkle over the nuts. Toss to coat, and spread evenly on the prepared pan. Bake for 1 hour in the preheated oven, stirring 2 or 3 times. Remove from oven and separate nuts with a fork if desired. Allow to cool, then store nuts in airtight containers. Yum! - Rose Norris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Delish! Changed recipe according to my taste and oven temp. Used cardamom (instead of clove), used just a pinch of nutmeg as I feel it can highjack the flavor profile of an entire dish if not careful, and added cayenne.Baked at 300 for 20 minutes. Mixed 2 cups pecans to 1 cup cashews. Also used reviewers advice of turning the nuts every 5 minutes. Very addictive, will be a go-to snack for parties and hostess gifts. Great recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I baked it 30 minutes the first time - 20 minutes @ 350 works with my oven. I have used it with 2 t cinnamon also, it's always a hit!! Easy and fast!! They are good as snacks or in a salad. It makes a great gift also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States