Spiced Pecan Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was wonderful! I had fresh pecans from my daughters tree and i cracked them myself so I think that added to the incredible flavor. followed it exactly and wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I really wanted to like this receipe because it smelled delicious while baking. However the overwhelming taste of flour made it unedible =(. I feel with some tweaking this could be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mumsy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
These came out really dry for me. Maybe I did something wrong? The flavor was great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Excellent recipe! My family really enjoyed these cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I love this take on the classic shortbread. Mine turned out a little dry but is perfect with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This shortbread is delicious, and it smells like Christmas while it bakes. I toasted some blanched almonds and used them instead of pecans. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This shortbread is awesome. I did not have pumpkin pie spice so I used the spices as suggested by a previous reviewer and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATZEYES

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Juneau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Not sure if I did something wrong but I found these to be very dry and flour tasting. I think just mixing the butter in with a fork doesn't distribute it enough. I would try mixing with a mixer next time and see if that helps. I loved the taste of the shortbread with the pecans and spices but no one could get past the dry/flour taste so they went uneaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jess Royal
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This shortbread recipe is easy, quick and incredibly delicious. A great step-up from basic shortbread. I followed the exact recipe - the only thing I changed was the baking dish. I used a pie dish because I was serving this as a dessert for dinner company and wanted something different from the same ol' dessert square. The pie dish was a little deeper than the recommended dish so I could have let the shortbread cook a little longer but I found that I really like the slightly chewy center. I served it topped with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, a couple dashes of ground cinnamon and nutmeg and fresh berries. My guests thought it was TO DIE FOR and are still raving about it. This will be a staple dessert in my house from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Royal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I loved this recipe! It was SO quick to mix everything, and I liked that I didn't have to get out the hand mixer. I cut the shortbread into squares shortly after taking it out of the oven, and put the pan in the fridge to speed up the cooling process...took about an hour, and worked great. I also didn't have any pumpkin spice, and a dash of ginger, nutmeg, and cinnamon worked great (I didn't have allspice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States