Spiced Peach Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I've made muffins with oats before--what I did was mix the buttermilk with the oats together and let it sit for 10 minutes before adding in the rest of the wet ingredients. THEN, I folded in the dry ingredients and the peaches. I baked my muffins in a 350* oven for 20 minutes--I got 12 biggish muffins out of one recipe. These muffins were so. freaking. good. Even my husband called me from work and told me how much he liked them. Between him and the kids, they ate 9 muffins this morning. This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Very good. I used skim milk instead of buttermilk and substituted a combo of honey/syrup for the molasses and was very pleased with the result. Thanks for the others who suggested adding in the salt... that was very necessary (I used about 1/2 t.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
This recipe has been from revised to include only 1/3 cup applesauce in the ingredient list, and to include the molasses and baking soda in the directions. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Overall, these are probably 4 stars, but I would rate them 5 if you're looking for a healthy alternative (not too) sweet treat for toddlers. I halved the recipe and made 30 mini muffins instead of regular muffins and made the recipe as stated except added the cinnamon to the batter instead of doing a cinnamon/sugar topping. (Omitted the white sugar altogether.) I used baby applesauce for a smooth texture. Mini muffins at 400 in a nonstick mini muffin pan were cooked in about 8 1/2 minutes. Next time, I would add about 1/4 tsp. salt. I did not find these muffins to be overly dense--mine were spongey and pretty light. I diced the peaches very fine (again, for my 1-year old) and I will freeze most of them for her to snack on later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
I made these muffins exactly according to the recipe. They have a slightly crunchy crust but are tender inside. The diced fresh peaches held their shape and color very well. However, I do agree with the other reviewers who suggested adding salt. Next time I will add at least a teaspoon. Also, I don't think the cinnamon sugar on top is worth the mess and effort. It just falls off. I may try adding a bit of cinnamon to the batter when I make these again, which I will. Overall, this is a great basic recipe and yummy slathered with butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
This recipe is awesome! I made these because they use peaches and my family will eat anything that uses them. I also found that this recipe can also use canned peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Just wonderful!!! I wish I could give these more stars for healthiness and goodness. I wanted a recipe that didn't take regular milk, as I was out and had some 'yogurt milk' which is a drink found in Middle eastern stores similar to buttermilk. When I took it out of the fridge, I realized my husband had bought the 'mint' flavored so I was in a quandry. I spotted two containers of blueberry non-fat yogurt. I used 1 cup of the blueberry yogurt. I did add 3/4 tsp. salt to the batter. Only had regular rolled oats and it worked fine. Surprisingly this time of year, I had to very ripe nice flavor peaches. The taste was incredible. I could taste the peach throughout. Diced them fine. (2 good size peaches=1cup) 2 mini muffin pans at 10 min. baking time, and 3 giant-sized muffins. Added tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. ginger, and 1/4 tsp. cardamom to the topping and it was wonderful. I did find like other reviewers, however, that the topping doesn't stick well. Maybe try adding it a bit before recommended time next time. These had a wonderful taste and not sickening sweet. Light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
yummy muffins. I did add salt, vanilla, tbl flax meal and 1/2 c oat bran. Used 5 peach halves. very peachy. I ended up with 17 muffins, filling cups pretty much full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Well, I have to say these were pretty bland and I even added cinnamon, salt and nutmeg to the batter. These muffins are not very sweet and are low in fat, so I guess if you're looking for a healthy muffin then these would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanyafehr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I used lowfat buttermilk and lowfat applesauce in this recipe. Also added a streusel topping that had pecans in it and it added good texture and sweetness! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States