Spiced Peach Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Just wonderful!!! I wish I could give these more stars for healthiness and goodness. I wanted a recipe that didn't take regular milk, as I was out and had some 'yogurt milk' which is a drink found in Middle eastern stores similar to buttermilk. When I took it out of the fridge, I realized my husband had bought the 'mint' flavored so I was in a quandry. I spotted two containers of blueberry non-fat yogurt. I used 1 cup of the blueberry yogurt. I did add 3/4 tsp. salt to the batter. Only had regular rolled oats and it worked fine. Surprisingly this time of year, I had to very ripe nice flavor peaches. The taste was incredible. I could taste the peach throughout. Diced them fine. (2 good size peaches=1cup) 2 mini muffin pans at 10 min. baking time, and 3 giant-sized muffins. Added tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. ginger, and 1/4 tsp. cardamom to the topping and it was wonderful. I did find like other reviewers, however, that the topping doesn't stick well. Maybe try adding it a bit before recommended time next time. These had a wonderful taste and not sickening sweet. Light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
These were very good; not too sweet, with a mild molasses flavor. They didn't knock my socks off, but I wasn't expecting them to. For those who had trouble getting the topping to stay on: I brushed the muffin tops with a little bit of water to help the cinnamon/sugar mixture stay on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Overall, these are probably 4 stars, but I would rate them 5 if you're looking for a healthy alternative (not too) sweet treat for toddlers. I halved the recipe and made 30 mini muffins instead of regular muffins and made the recipe as stated except added the cinnamon to the batter instead of doing a cinnamon/sugar topping. (Omitted the white sugar altogether.) I used baby applesauce for a smooth texture. Mini muffins at 400 in a nonstick mini muffin pan were cooked in about 8 1/2 minutes. Next time, I would add about 1/4 tsp. salt. I did not find these muffins to be overly dense--mine were spongey and pretty light. I diced the peaches very fine (again, for my 1-year old) and I will freeze most of them for her to snack on later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
I made these muffins exactly according to the recipe. They have a slightly crunchy crust but are tender inside. The diced fresh peaches held their shape and color very well. However, I do agree with the other reviewers who suggested adding salt. Next time I will add at least a teaspoon. Also, I don't think the cinnamon sugar on top is worth the mess and effort. It just falls off. I may try adding a bit of cinnamon to the batter when I make these again, which I will. Overall, this is a great basic recipe and yummy slathered with butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
I have been searching for years for a recipe for fat-free sugar-free blueberry oatmeal muffins like the ones I loved when I was a teenager, before the health-food store that sold them closed down. Although this recipe isn't sugar-free (nor completely fat-free), I think the results are pretty similar (using blueberries instead of peaches, of course). These muffins are quite dense and chewy, but if you love oatmeal, as I do, you should appreciate their hearty texture. And the addition of salt would definitely improve the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
This recipe was interesting. I made them with apples instead of peaches because that was what I had, but I found that they ended up a bit too dense and chewy for my liking. Also, they were very stuck to the muffin cup liners. Tasted pretty good, but I'm not sure I'd make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
These were good and pretty kid friendly. They do need salt though. They were a good hearty breakfast muffin and we enjoyed them but I would not serve these for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
This recipe is awesome! I made these because they use peaches and my family will eat anything that uses them. I also found that this recipe can also use canned peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
This recipe has been from revised to include only 1/3 cup applesauce in the ingredient list, and to include the molasses and baking soda in the directions. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-49 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States