Spiced Peach Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I would say that "spiced" is a misnomer, there is hardly any spice in these at all. I also found the molasses to be overpowering. Next time I would add more cinnamon, ginger, and maybe even some cardamom for a truly spiced peach muffin. I followed the recipe except that I addded salt, used half whole wheat flour, and added a bit of butter and flour to the topping for more of a streussel effect. They are not very sweet, and certainly healthier than your average muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
These muffins have a wonderful spongy texture, but are lacking in flavor. I must say they tasted better the next day. I replaced buttermilk with 1/3c plain nonfat greek yougurt and 2/3c unsweetened almond milk, omitted brown sugar (so my muffins were barely sweet), added cinnamon into the dough and didn't do the topping at all. I will bake these again with some extra spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I made these but totally changed up the recipe, based on what I had in the kitchen. Thanks for a jumping off point. They came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
After reading other reviews, here's how I modified this recipe: - no molasses, just 1/2 cup brown sugar. - pears instead of peaches (it's winter) - whole wheat flour - add 1/2 tsp. ginger, cardamom and vanilla extract - almond milk instead of buttermilk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
What a delightful muffin. I had peaches frozen from over the summer that I defrosted to use in this recipe. Only change was to cut the molasses in 1/2 because of some previous reviewers noting that it was a little strong. Really enjoyed the cinnamon/sugar on top. I added this before baking instead of after 15 minutes. These are light, fluffy, moist and flavorful. Great for using up the last of my peaches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I thought these were delicious. This is a great combination of flavors. I put the topping on before baking, then sprinkled some oats on top for effect. The only problem I had was that the muffins stuck to the paper liners. I will use the foil type next time to eliminate the problem. I filled my muffin tins full and got 16 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
These were good, with a moist springy texture. Not amazing, even after adding salt and spices. I liked the molasses flavor, but these were just kinda... mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
These weren't completely awful, but I could have done so much better. I added salt and extra spices like everyone suggested, but they were still bland and sticky. If you do want to try them, add more sugar as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
These muffins were not what I had expected. The 1/4 cup of molasses is way too much, it blocks out the taste of the peaches completely. I used skim milk in place of buttermilk & forgot to add the 1/2 tsp of salt. I added the topping at around 10 minutes, but would encourage others to do it even sooner. I would also recommend not baking for 18 minutes, as it seemed to be too long, making them stick to the wrapper. My batch made 20 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
These were awesome! They were so good and they went fast. Definitely made them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Regan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Brielle, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States