Spiced Parsnip Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
Oh, my! Wow! I never had parsnips before and I could not beleive how sweet and delicious this soup was. I made the following changes to lower the fat: a little olive oil in place of butter and nonfat milk in place of cream; it was delicious even with these alterations. I also added a little ginger and served it with notfat yogurt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Super! Really filling. I chopped up an apple and added it near the end- gives it an extra fresh flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Apart from adding some freshly ground pepper, I followed the recipe exactly. Absolutely delicious. I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Excellent! I am going to double the recipe when I make it next it went to fast. I didn't have heavy cream, just added milk and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Deliciously different! Like the recipe states, it's an excellent meal starter (is not hearty enough to use as a main course). When I used my hand mixer to blend it, some small bits remained intact but that added a nice texture. If you prefer a totally creamy soup, you would have to use a food processor. The curry wasn't too hot but it does creep up on you a little more with every spoonful so next time I'll decrease the amount of curry, but only very slightly. This is the type of soup one would be served in an upscale restaurant. Thanks for this unique, sophisticated recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was my first time cooking with parsnips, and it was a great success! I don't know if my new curry powder was extra hot, but it was very spicy! My husband loved it, but we added yogurt to cool it down a bit. I used whole milk, so this also probably helped thicken it up. I'd recommend the addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
It was good. I think the name should be changed to Curry Parsnip Soup. You must like curry to enjoy this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACKLEY420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This soup was fantastic! For more of a bite I added crushed red pepper (1/8 teaspoon?) while sauteing the garlic and curry powder. Perfect! It just barely made me sweat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blissfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Loved it! I had a pink & chocolate color scheme going on so I was generous w/ the paprika & I added a tbp of tomato paste to add a little "pink". Turned more orange than pink but oh well. ;o) I've never had parsnips before & was very surprised that they tasted so much like carrots. I served this as a first course in a very tall, slender shot glass (I felt so Top-Chefish! LOL) paired w/ Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts II. Thanks BUTTERCUP8!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
This recipe is so tasty and very nourishing.None of my family kike parsnips but they all like this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States