Spiced Nuts I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I changed this up a bit by omitting the soy sauce and garlic powder, using half the worcestershire sauce and adding maple syrup and dried cranberries. I baked mine at 350 degrees stirring every 30 minutes. I agree it would probably be better with half the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This recipe didn't work for me. The nuts stayed greasy from the butter even after I tried baking them in the oven and blotting them with paper towels. Taste is OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
very good. I thought the measurements were perfect I did add a little kick to them with a sprinkle of cayenne powder. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I've been searching for a good snack nut mix for gifts and I believe I've found it. Thank you. - I did make the following changes based on my families tastes. I reduced the cloves by half (1/8 tsp), and used regular butter and mixed nuts because it's what I had. Near the end of cooking I sprinkled just a smattering of sugar over the top and tossed it in. I made this on the stove top in a wok because I don't have a microwave dish big enuf and my test batch seemed - "chewy". Here's how I finally dried off the oilyness from the butter and it seemed to work OK. After cooking stove top a few minutes I finished them off in the oven at 325 for 5 - 10 minutes. I then put a flat cooling rack on the bottom of a jelly roll pan and covered it with a piece of paper bag covered with paper towels. Then I put them back in the over at 250 for ~10 minutes, stirring as necessary until they were mostly dry. Let cool on racks. I hope that helps someone. If you have any better ideas for drying off the nuts I look forward to learning it. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammy Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Totally underwhelmed. Was looking for something not sweet, and while these are not sweet I didn't find a whole lot of taste and they were very greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I took these to a party last night. Everyone wanted the recipe and couldn't believe I had made then in only 10 minutes. I did cook them for 9 minutes total. Quick and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Batesburg-Leesville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Too much butter, pecans did not crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dekace
Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Loved this recipe; however, I knew to roast the nuts beforehand! The savory taste of these nuts cannot be beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyCrocker
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Da Bomb! Delish. After seeing other reviews & they thought these nuts were greasy I drained mine on a paper towel. Also halved the recipe since pecans & butter are not cheap. Now I wish I had gone for the whole shebang! They are so good. All microwaves differ & mine is one of the hotter ones & these cooked up wonderfully following your directions even though I had half the recipe. I have made several batches of spicier chex & pretzel type mixes & was ready for a change. I love this combo of spices. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I used mixed nuts which turned out exceedingly greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

Oven-roasted pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States