Spiced Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
If it is a bit too rich, you can cut it down with a small amount of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Oooh, this is just divine! My teenage son nagged me constantly to make this, so I devised a short cut: Mix all the dry ingredients together. To make one cup, use a very slightly rounded tablespoonful of the dry mix and add a little boiling water, stirring to make a thin paste. Then add the hot milk, a drop of vanilla, top with marshmallows and enjoy! I also add a pinch of salt to bring out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This hot chocolate is amazing! At first i was skeptical, because chili powder isnt something you normally pair with chocolate, but it gives it a strangely attractive flavor. I substituted 2c milk with vanilla "Silk" (soymilk) and it still turned out delicious. be sure to stir very well before drinking, and keep a spoon handy while drinking, because everything settles. otherwise, this is one of the very best mugs of chocolate i've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Messmaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I looked repeately at the recipe to see what I did wrong. The only change I made was 1% milk instead of skim. It came out like lightly chocolate flavored water. In an attempt to salvage - I doubled the cocoa powder and sugar and it was slightly better. Then I added a couple sprinkles salt, again a little better but not worthwhile. Then I added about 1/4 heavy cream. An improvement but not good. Then ended up adding 4 squares of Lindt Dark Chili chocolate bar. With the changes, I would give it a 2 or 3. Definitely won't make this again. I recommend trying a smaller version before you go with the whole recipe. The grainy texture from the spices was not pleasant either. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TK Bunnies
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Very good. It's been crazy cold lately and my mom keeps asking me to make her this hot coco. :) The best part about this recipe is the chili powder, it keeps you feeling warm even after you finish the drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TK Bunnies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I've recently had to switch over from coffee to other hot drinks due to the need to limit caffeine intake. This is my favorite hot chocolate recipe I've tried so far! I did water it down a little bit, just because I'm not used to drinking a lot of milk, but the spice blend was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I liked this, DD did not. I used soy instead of cow's milk, and agave syrup instead of sugar. I enjoyed the spiciness of this, but DD thought it wasn't sweet enough! I will be making this treat for myself next time! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I really liked this hot chocolate, but the spices were a little too strong for me. I would suggest less cloves and more sugar, cinnamon, and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Bake
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Sooo good! I was a bit skeptical about the chili powder, but this recipe is definitely a keeper. My sister and I added two extra tablespoons of sugar, and that seemed to help balance out the flavor a little better. We thought this would be perfect with some gingersnaps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3girls2parents1chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Wonderful blend of flavors! I've been watching my carbs and sugars, so I made a couple of alterations: I used unsweetened almond milk and used Truvia instead of sugar. I'll be making this by the cup, so followed the suggestion to mix the dry ingredients (except sugar). I then put a rounded 1/2 T of the mix in a mug with a bit of vanilla and then enough boiling water to make a paste. I then added my almond milk slowly to blend and put the mug in the microwave for about 1 1/2 min. I added one packet of Truvia, but may be able to use less next time. It's not quite as rich as I'd like it to be, but wonderful when you're missing hot chocolate this time of year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States