Spiced Honey Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Wow....Fantastic. I Did make some changes, I actually followed advice from others I read before making. I did the 1/4 teaspoon Cayanne, Chilli, Garlic & Onion powders. I also doubled my butter and added an extra Tablespoon of honey. THEY are outstanding! I used Beer pretzels, broken into smaller chunks. Cooked them at 250 degrees for 45 mins stiring ever 10mins. I've decided to cool them on a wire rack so they don't stick to the tin foil and I adore them, will be making them for a new years eve party next week! THANK YOU for whoever posted this receipe and all the added tips they all made a difference and gave me a new great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
When making baked pretzels, I always use vegetable oil instead of butter. I read through the reviews and increased the oil just a bit. These turned out great! I did bake them a little longer--250 degrees for 45 minutes, stirring every ten minutes, just like you would Chex Mix. This was great for a treat for Movie Night for the boys and this will make a great lunch addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
These are super yummy! I did use the 1/2 onion, 1/2 garlic and 1/2 chili 1/2 cayenne suggestion, they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I think this recipe could be tweaked to make a better flavor. THe spice flavor is WAY too subtle and yet the honey seemed to get nearly burned masking it even more. These are a bit sticky feeling as well so I think I'd like less honey and more zip if I try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
We Love these Pretzels and make them offten. We also add some red pepper for the extra heat. Yummy thanks for the great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
These are really good, but they are a bit bland as written. I double the butter, add an extra Tbsp. of honey, 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper, and a Tbsp. of dijon mustard. Microwave honey mixture for about 20 seconds before pouring over the pretzels. When I take them out of the oven, I toss and coat with about 2 Tbsp. sugar. Otherwise, they just aren't sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I planned to substitute cayenne for the chili powder (per suggestion of a friend) but forgot that we were out of it, so I used chipotle powder instead and it was still delicious. Next time I will definitely try it with cayenne though! I also let them cool on the baking sheet and just stirred them a few times while cooling so they didn't all stick together. EDIT: Used cayenne this time and was delish. I think any of these hot spices would be good. I would only do 1/2tsp. of the spice though. Plenty for non-spicy eaters. Also used pretzel twists, which worked just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RecipeAddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This makes an ordinary snack a bit more special. The shiny glaze that hardens on each individual pretzel is quite attractive. Don't forget to stir the pretzels as they cool! I do think that I would like to try adding some extra spices as other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I give this recipe 4 stars because it needed some changes for my taste preference. I have tried several different types of pretzels - but pretzel nuggets taste the best! I did 1/2 teaspoon of onion powder and 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder. I did 1/2 teaspoon of chili powder and 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper. I also added worchestershire sauce - about 1 teaspoon. Baked for 11-12 minutes and they turned out perfect! Everyone raves about them and they are always gobbled up fast! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LonSkyMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Used mini twists instead of sticks, increased the butter to 1T, nuked the butter and honey for 30 seconds, and added a few dashes of cayenne and ground chipotle pepper to give it a bit more kick. They could still have a bit more heat for my taste, but my husband thought they were great. A quick and tasty snack that I'll definately make again. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States