Spiced Honey Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Wow....Fantastic. I Did make some changes, I actually followed advice from others I read before making. I did the 1/4 teaspoon Cayanne, Chilli, Garlic & Onion powders. I also doubled my butter and added an extra Tablespoon of honey. THEY are outstanding! I used Beer pretzels, broken into smaller chunks. Cooked them at 250 degrees for 45 mins stiring ever 10mins. I've decided to cool them on a wire rack so they don't stick to the tin foil and I adore them, will be making them for a new years eve party next week! THANK YOU for whoever posted this receipe and all the added tips they all made a difference and gave me a new great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
When making baked pretzels, I always use vegetable oil instead of butter. I read through the reviews and increased the oil just a bit. These turned out great! I did bake them a little longer--250 degrees for 45 minutes, stirring every ten minutes, just like you would Chex Mix. This was great for a treat for Movie Night for the boys and this will make a great lunch addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
These are super yummy! I did use the 1/2 onion, 1/2 garlic and 1/2 chili 1/2 cayenne suggestion, they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I think this recipe could be tweaked to make a better flavor. THe spice flavor is WAY too subtle and yet the honey seemed to get nearly burned masking it even more. These are a bit sticky feeling as well so I think I'd like less honey and more zip if I try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
We Love these Pretzels and make them offten. We also add some red pepper for the extra heat. Yummy thanks for the great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
These are really good, but they are a bit bland as written. I double the butter, add an extra Tbsp. of honey, 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper, and a Tbsp. of dijon mustard. Microwave honey mixture for about 20 seconds before pouring over the pretzels. When I take them out of the oven, I toss and coat with about 2 Tbsp. sugar. Otherwise, they just aren't sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I planned to substitute cayenne for the chili powder (per suggestion of a friend) but forgot that we were out of it, so I used chipotle powder instead and it was still delicious. Next time I will definitely try it with cayenne though! I also let them cool on the baking sheet and just stirred them a few times while cooling so they didn't all stick together. EDIT: Used cayenne this time and was delish. I think any of these hot spices would be good. I would only do 1/2tsp. of the spice though. Plenty for non-spicy eaters. Also used pretzel twists, which worked just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RecipeAddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This makes an ordinary snack a bit more special. The shiny glaze that hardens on each individual pretzel is quite attractive. Don't forget to stir the pretzels as they cool! I do think that I would like to try adding some extra spices as other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I give this recipe 4 stars because it needed some changes for my taste preference. I have tried several different types of pretzels - but pretzel nuggets taste the best! I did 1/2 teaspoon of onion powder and 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder. I did 1/2 teaspoon of chili powder and 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper. I also added worchestershire sauce - about 1 teaspoon. Baked for 11-12 minutes and they turned out perfect! Everyone raves about them and they are always gobbled up fast! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LonSkyMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Used mini twists instead of sticks, increased the butter to 1T, nuked the butter and honey for 30 seconds, and added a few dashes of cayenne and ground chipotle pepper to give it a bit more kick. They could still have a bit more heat for my taste, but my husband thought they were great. A quick and tasty snack that I'll definately make again. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States