Spiced Farmhouse Fairy Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Very good overall. The one adjustment I made that I think helps overcome the blandness is putting the cardamom in the batter (1/4 tsp.) instead of on top, and bumping the ginger up to 1/2 tsp. Also drizzled a very light vanilla icing on top. Shared these with some friends and they loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Great little cakes! I had to make some adjustments because of the flour, I have to have gluten free. I was a little worried, but the cakes turned out perfect. It seems like there needed to be more spice-ing up to these so I did double the cinnamon, put in 1/4 tsp of ginger AND nutmeg and just a dash of allspice. I also added 1/2 tsp of vanilla. Since I didn't have self-rising flour I added 1 1/2 tsp of baking powder and 1/4 tsp of salt to make up the difference. Information on the icing would have been nice, or at least a link to the one used. And one last thing, cardamom should NOT be optional! And there should be more than just a pinch. Thanks for sharing. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caitlynn
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Good! Yummy and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
These were good but I think the margarine made it taste greasy. I will make them again and use real butter to see if it works better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberlynn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Towson, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
they were delicous!!! i made my own honey-peanut buttercream icing to go on top and i added 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg and ginger. other than that they were excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
This is a great recipe and these come out so great. They are just the right amount of sweetness that even those that don't care for sweets fall in love with them. I have my kindergarten class make them with me every year for St. Patricks day events and even my pickiest ones eat them! Thanks for the recipe it lives in my cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I've given this a three because the cakes I made were gorgeous but I made a few alterations to the recipe based on the comments so if I'd kept to the original recipe it would have been too dense and not spicy enough! I added just over a cup full of flour and added a teaspoon of mxed spice in with double the amont of cinnamon and ginger specified. I also Iced these with a cinnamon butter icing and they were delicious! Ligt, fluff, spicy and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
There is far too much flour in this recipe to be considered a true British "fairy cake" recipe. It comes out much more like a muffin/bread product with this much flour (unless you use extremely fine and low gluten flour like cake flour). SO, if you really want a true fairy cake and something a lot less dry you should reduce the flour to just over 1 cup (a heaped cupful). This will be more accurate, and more moist! Still I give this recipe 3 stars because it's basically good, just the proportions are slightly wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
My whole family really enjoyed these. The spice blend is nice and sweet without being too sweet. We topped them with just confectioner's sugar but next time I may try just a little drizzle of glaze and maybe some cinnamon sugar. Came together really easily too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I loved this recipe! I added a tsp. of vanilla to it and it turned out great. Highly recommended for a quick breakfast or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States