Spiced Farmhouse Fairy Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
These really are simple to make and remember, but they're sort of bland. I added more of the spices than what it called for, and added more cardamom in the powdered sugar than what it called for and they still came out slightly bland. I'm not sure how fluffy these are supposed to be as I didn't have any self rising flour so I just winged it and added some baking powder. They tasted good warm out of the oven, and got a little crisp after cooling. A decent, tasty way to snack or start breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
wow these are fast and easy, we love spice so add a tsp of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
I made no changes to the recipe at all except icing & decorating them instead of dusting w/ sugar. A very nice, easy recipe to do with kids which is a lot more special than your average fairy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FADEDDREAMS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Braintree, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
They are good for what they are but they are kind of plain. They are really good for people who don't like chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I love this recipe. Thanks for putting it here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Ann Longoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gonzales, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
It was a great desert, not to rich, but just right. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I loved this recipe! I added a tsp. of vanilla to it and it turned out great. Highly recommended for a quick breakfast or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
My whole family really enjoyed these. The spice blend is nice and sweet without being too sweet. We topped them with just confectioner's sugar but next time I may try just a little drizzle of glaze and maybe some cinnamon sugar. Came together really easily too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
There is far too much flour in this recipe to be considered a true British "fairy cake" recipe. It comes out much more like a muffin/bread product with this much flour (unless you use extremely fine and low gluten flour like cake flour). SO, if you really want a true fairy cake and something a lot less dry you should reduce the flour to just over 1 cup (a heaped cupful). This will be more accurate, and more moist! Still I give this recipe 3 stars because it's basically good, just the proportions are slightly wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I've given this a three because the cakes I made were gorgeous but I made a few alterations to the recipe based on the comments so if I'd kept to the original recipe it would have been too dense and not spicy enough! I added just over a cup full of flour and added a teaspoon of mxed spice in with double the amont of cinnamon and ginger specified. I also Iced these with a cinnamon butter icing and they were delicious! Ligt, fluff, spicy and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States