Spiced Eggplant Indian Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I tried it last night and it was OK. Although my husband loved it, I think it needs more spices to be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I really didn't like the taste of the coriander seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Excellent flavour after tweaking from other reviews (garlic, salt, curry powder, ground coriander, etc). Baked for 15 mins at 350 and baked cherry tomatoes for the same time in lieu of canned tomatoes. Paired with brown rice. Fabulous & easy. Will make again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Penzance, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I did NOT like this. Maybe I just don't like eggplant because this was the first time I've ever had it. But other people said it was good. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saritah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is good dish, but it needs some additional ingredients to make truly "Indian" and more flavorful. You need to add salt, garam masala (if you have it) or black pepper, red chilli pepper, minced garlic, minced ginger, and turmeric powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia S.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This is delicious !!!! This recipe looked very much like the " Poor Mans Caviar " that I make, so I had to try it. It tasted the same. Where are the peoples taste-buds??? The egg plant it's self has a lot of flavor,tomato,onion, garlic,& herbs === M - M - M GOOOD !!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Found it a bit bland, added Garlic, Cardamon and a bit of curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Not a lot of flavor. if your looking for just a vegi side dish it would be fine. but not an indian flavor. I added Tandoori Masala and it gave it a little more of an indian flavor but I did not add enough to make a difference because I did not want to alter the dish too much the first time. Not sure if I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kingsburg, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I like this recipe as a base, but it needs a lot more flavor. I added garlic, lemon juice and garlic salt but it still needs a bit more tweaking to be really flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Next time will not bake eggplant but blanch and saute with onions and 1 clove minced garlic. Also added some salt and had to use ground coriander (1/2 tsp) and will add more next time too. Thought I had seeds but... Used canned tomatoes which was fine. Not impressive looks but really tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States