Spiced Cocoa Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Nice change from traditionally flavored cupcakes!! Added a dark chocolate lower sugar frosting with cranberries on top with some Cardinal bird figurines. Us women liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Great recipe but def needs more moisture. To make healthier instead of adding additional egg added the equivalent of one egg in flax/water combo and increased applesauce by 1/4 cup. Although that's where the healthy stopped because I topped with Marshmallow frosting because what goes better with a cocoa than marshmallow, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Good flavor but too dry, even with an extra egg. Made it with cream cheese frosting and flavor combo was odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
These are delicious even without a glaze or frosting. I did add the extra egg and applesauce and they are nice and moist. I used an all-purpose rice flour blend instead of wheat flour. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Following other reviewers, I added another egg and used almost a full cup of applesauce, as well as substituting chocolate chips for the cranberries. Also, for the flour I used 1 cup all-purpose and 1 cup whole wheat. The result was delicious! (But next time I think I'll use more chocolate chips, since I love chocolate so much.) With the modifications, definitely a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was an amazing recipe. I skipped the glaze frosting and went with Cream Cheese Frosting II also found on Allrecipes and they went amazing together. I wouldn't skip the cranberries like some people mentioned they made the cupcakes dynamic. Also while the dough made is dry the cupcakes didn't turn out dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Very easy to make. Has a great chocolate-cinnamon flavor. Came out perfect. Only thing I changed on the recipe, was the icing. I added a little margarine and cocoa. Easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I read other reviews and followed some of the recommendations when making this. I added an extra egg, 1/4 C of applesauce and 1/4 C milk. I swapped out the cranberries for Ghiradelli 60% chocolate chips, and I also frosted with cinnamon cream cheese frosting. They were absolutely delicious with the changes, but I don't think they would have been nearly as good had I followed the recipe as is. Thanks to the other reviewers for their recommendations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Normally, I tend to stay away from recipes with so few reviews, but this one caught my eye, and I am so glad that I decided to make it. These are so good. The spice combination with the chocolate is something that I never would have thought of, but goes so well together. Another positive - only 1/4 cup of butter - lower in fat than most cupcake recipes, but the addition of the applesauce keeps these very moist. I frosted these with cinnamon cream cheese frosting and we can't stop ourselves from eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Delicious. Followed recipe exactly except omitted cranberries. Used two packs of applesauce in addition to butter. Used a chocolate buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States