Spiced Cocoa Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Nice change from traditionally flavored cupcakes!! Added a dark chocolate lower sugar frosting with cranberries on top with some Cardinal bird figurines. Us women liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Great recipe but def needs more moisture. To make healthier instead of adding additional egg added the equivalent of one egg in flax/water combo and increased applesauce by 1/4 cup. Although that's where the healthy stopped because I topped with Marshmallow frosting because what goes better with a cocoa than marshmallow, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Good flavor but too dry, even with an extra egg. Made it with cream cheese frosting and flavor combo was odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
These are delicious even without a glaze or frosting. I did add the extra egg and applesauce and they are nice and moist. I used an all-purpose rice flour blend instead of wheat flour. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Following other reviewers, I added another egg and used almost a full cup of applesauce, as well as substituting chocolate chips for the cranberries. Also, for the flour I used 1 cup all-purpose and 1 cup whole wheat. The result was delicious! (But next time I think I'll use more chocolate chips, since I love chocolate so much.) With the modifications, definitely a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was an amazing recipe. I skipped the glaze frosting and went with Cream Cheese Frosting II also found on Allrecipes and they went amazing together. I wouldn't skip the cranberries like some people mentioned they made the cupcakes dynamic. Also while the dough made is dry the cupcakes didn't turn out dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Very easy to make. Has a great chocolate-cinnamon flavor. Came out perfect. Only thing I changed on the recipe, was the icing. I added a little margarine and cocoa. Easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I read other reviews and followed some of the recommendations when making this. I added an extra egg, 1/4 C of applesauce and 1/4 C milk. I swapped out the cranberries for Ghiradelli 60% chocolate chips, and I also frosted with cinnamon cream cheese frosting. They were absolutely delicious with the changes, but I don't think they would have been nearly as good had I followed the recipe as is. Thanks to the other reviewers for their recommendations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Normally, I tend to stay away from recipes with so few reviews, but this one caught my eye, and I am so glad that I decided to make it. These are so good. The spice combination with the chocolate is something that I never would have thought of, but goes so well together. Another positive - only 1/4 cup of butter - lower in fat than most cupcake recipes, but the addition of the applesauce keeps these very moist. I frosted these with cinnamon cream cheese frosting and we can't stop ourselves from eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Delicious. Followed recipe exactly except omitted cranberries. Used two packs of applesauce in addition to butter. Used a chocolate buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States