Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
With the spices doubled, this is a lovely and flavorful recipe that really warms you up. I substituted orange juice for the sherry, and the sweetness rounded off the nutmeg and allspice flavors well. Delicious with garlic croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
A bit involved in the making of, but worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I admit it, I used a "sunshine" winter squash because that is what is what I had. Absolutely wonderful. Is on menu again and I have a butternut. I expect the same excellence. (I use only organice ingredients)Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I made this for the first time last night. Oh my gosh. It was fantastic! I actually couldn't believe that I made something that tasted this good! I'm a bit of a novice in the kitchen but am trying to cook more. This made me feel much more confident! I made it exactly as prescribed, except I couldn't figure out the chicken broth quantity either so I used 1 box and 1 can. I also omitted the sherry (being a non-drinker and not generally having alcohol on hand) and it was still just about perfect. Reading the recipe, the amount of spice looked a little light but it was perfect. Very subtle but I didn't want to overpower the flavor of the squash. Oh, I did forget to put in the salt and pepper but I didn't miss them at all. I pureed the heck out of it with my immersible handheld blender and made sure there were no lumps. Divine. My husband was also amazed at how great it was. We ate it as an appetizer before filet mignon, but it would be great standing on its own, too. I'm so glad I took a chance on this recipe! It's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
For what it is worth, I thought this soup was great, until I added the spices! It would have been perfect without the spices and wine. I do a lot of cooking and this would be near the top of my dislike list. I may try it sometime w/o the nutmeg, ginger and allspice (I hate going to the work of making something like this only to not like it!) I can usually doctor up what I make if I don't like the flavor, but I couldn't find a fix for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
My husband loved this- "the best new thing I've had in memory"- and otherwise he wouldn't touch butternut squash on a bet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Made this soup for Halloween. :) We had both acorn & butternut squash so I used combo and made double batch. Children seemed put off by the taste of the sherry -- maybe they would have liked it better if I'd remembered to offer sour cream to top it off. But the 3 adults enjoyed it. I am happy to read another reviewer say that the spices were even more satisfying after freezing, as I will freeze some of this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This was wonderful and very filling on it's own. I took suggestions and combined another recipe on this site and added 1 carrot, 1 celery and only 1 potato-I also used a leek and 1/2 of a white onion. I didn't have chicken stock on hand so I used vegetable broth-32 oz. It was superb. The spices really add flavor to this comfort soup. Definitely one for the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Liked it a lot and spouse did too! My squash was a bit small, so I will be sure to grab a bigger squash next time for more butternut flavor. All the flavors meld together nicely with a pleasant spicy background. Excellent cold night recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marcellus, New York, USA
Living In: Harrison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I doubled this recipe since I had an 8lb squash. Instead of the potatoes added 2 red apples and 1 sweet potato. I added cinnamon to the spices. This soup was amazing!! I will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States