Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Dee liked Jim did not
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Entire family including young children loved the soup. I doubled the spices because it tasted a little bland to me. I used 1% milk thickened with Wondra flour instead of 1/2 and 1/2 to lower the fat content and I think I got almost as good of a "creamy" taste as if I had used 1/2 and 1/2. To make it easier for me, I just roasted the squash whole. It's so hard to cut those in half raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I have been wanting to make my own butternut squash soup for a long time now, and I think this is the best recipe I could have tried! It is absolutely amazing! I didn't even screw it up :) I wanted to do a double batch but I was short chicken broth so I added apple cider. I wish I had done what another reviewer said and added an apple in place of one of the potatos too. Next time! I will be making this again! I also added more spice than it called for and I would recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Absolutley Amazing! I have never had butternut squash soup but wanted to try it. It is the most delicious soup I have ever eaten. It is very filling as well. I like my soups a bit thick so I used 32oz of chx broth, which was a bit too much as it was too thin after I pureed it. Therefore I used only half of the sherry and half-and-half. I would have liked to use the full amount because I love the flavor that they fave it but I did not want to thin out the soup any more. I also put LOTS of cayenne pepper since I like it spicy, brown sugar and cinnamon as other people had suggested. Next time I will add and apple and a sweet potato, I wish I had listened to other reviews and done it this time. Either way it was super yummy! The basic recipe is great and tweaking it to your taste will just vamp it up! I cant wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Please, somebody...I loved the soup but feel like I drank a bowl of salt. Chicken broth is real salty. Anyone else have this problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dede

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
after roasting the squash, and sauteeing the onions, leek and garlic, i put all ingredients in the crock pot for the entire day. The result was a deep, rich flavor. The only thing i would change is i would omit the cayenne pepper or at least limit it to a sprinkle. The bite of the cayenned detracted from the rich, deep flavor of the soup. definetly would make this again without the cayenne. tx for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Excellent soup! I pretty much followed the recipe except I used 1 potato and 1 apple, next time I think I will probably use 2 apples and no potato. I didn't have any allspice so I substituted Pumpkin Pie Spice for all the spices. I also used milk instead. It wasn't as thick or creamy as I thought it would be but it was still really good. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
My wife loved it. I did not. It was expensive to make, took a long time and made a big mess. I scooped the mixture into a food processor from the hot pot on the stove and blended each batch. I suppose it was my fault, but while I did this, it often spilled onto the stove top. Then I had to use a second pot to receive the blended mixture. I had to wash two large pots and the food processor. I did use milk instead of half & half and apples instead of potatoes. It tasted okay, but not worth the bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hijaq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Very good soup. Out of necessity, I used one medium butternut squash, 2 TB bacon grease, 2 leeks, 3 cloves garlic, 6 cups chicken broth, no potatoes, no onions, and white wine instead of sherry. It was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn BD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bergen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States