Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! I will definitely make it again. I doubled it for a party, and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clayton, California, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Flavor was pretty good, but did not care for the texture, very thin and watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Great soup. I made a bunch of minor changes. First of all, I increased it to 14 servings. (2 squashes). For spices: I substituted curry and chili powder (about 1/2 tsp each) instead of the cayenne. I used red wine (cab) instead of the sherry and sweet potatoes (already cooked and soft) instead of russet. Yummy and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Excellent soup to make and freeze or wow guests. I used apple and sweet potato instead of the russet potatoes. I also added a bit of thyme and rosemary and topped the soup with pomegranate seeds. Delicious and attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This is pretty good although I think I preferred it before I added the sherry wine. I had tasted it and liked it and have never added sherry before to this kind of soup so I thought I would try it and I prefer it without. I did not add the cayenne pepper due to personal taste and I didn't have a leek so just used the onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Soup was fantastic! I used sweet potato instead of idaho and I didn't have any sherry so I used Shiraz. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly and my dad and teenage son absolutely loved it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Dee liked Jim did not
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Entire family including young children loved the soup. I doubled the spices because it tasted a little bland to me. I used 1% milk thickened with Wondra flour instead of 1/2 and 1/2 to lower the fat content and I think I got almost as good of a "creamy" taste as if I had used 1/2 and 1/2. To make it easier for me, I just roasted the squash whole. It's so hard to cut those in half raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I have been wanting to make my own butternut squash soup for a long time now, and I think this is the best recipe I could have tried! It is absolutely amazing! I didn't even screw it up :) I wanted to do a double batch but I was short chicken broth so I added apple cider. I wish I had done what another reviewer said and added an apple in place of one of the potatos too. Next time! I will be making this again! I also added more spice than it called for and I would recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States