Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Wonderful! I used sweet potatoes, added two apples and used 6 cups of broth. I left out the ginger and sherry because I didn't have any. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This was absolutely delicious. I made this soup on a hot summer day with a 95F temperature outside. I peeled the squash by hand and then diced it into one inch cubes. I also substituted purple potatoes for russets. The diced squash and potatoes tasted great and I didn't bother running them through a blender. Although spicy, this was a refreshing soup for a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I have had this soup with apples and that brings out the flavor more than the spicyness of this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIMAEATS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
My daughter and I were looking for a rich, creamy soup on a cold winter night in Nova Scotia and this filled the bill- but we did make a few adjustments- some out of necessity. We could not find 3 lbs of butternut squash in our grocery store in January so we used acorn too. We used sweet potato instead of regular and doubled the allspice and nutmeg and added some cinnamon and a bit more sherry. We tasted and tasted until I was afraid it would all be gone then she suggested a tablespoon of Maple Syrup. Perfect. We saved some for my husband (3 days in the fridge) and it was even better as the flavours had a chance to absorb. A dollop of sour cream with a pinch of dill made it beautiful to look at as well. Would like to try it with all butternut squash as it has a nicer colour than acorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I love this recipe! I needed a recipe for the butternut squash and this one hit it right on the spot! The flavor is incredible. Thank you for posting this. I will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This was great! I modified the recipe slightly. I doubled the allspice, nuteg, and ginger. I also used one sweet potato and one granny smith apple instead of the two russet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Something seemed missing.... But it could have been really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I must be doing something wrong. I wanted to like this soup so much that I tried it twice. The first time I made it as written and it came out blah, so the second time I used sweet potato instead of russet, doubled the spices, added cinnamon, and used curry instead of cayenne. Came out grainy and tasted ... strange. Can soup be both bland and overspiced? It tasted like my spice rack smells. I blame myself since everyone else seems pretty happy with the result. But I won't be trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States