Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I used 1/2 the broth for thicker soup, used about 1/2c heavy cream (vs. half & half) and much more cayenne pepper. I kept the other spices about the same to keep the sweetness down. I also used real sherry vs sherry wine...just a splash but it really helped bring out the creamy flavors. This is a great base recipe to spice up to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Double the spices! With Ethan though, keep the cayenne at 1/8tsp. Extra leeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Wonderful taste ~ tho I couldn't get the texture right. I don't have a immersible blender or a counter top blender, so that was no one's fault but my own. I didn't use half and half ~ I used skim milk to cut down on the cals and I didn't have cooking sherry so I used a bit of red wine that I keep on hand. Was out of nutmeg. Good and filling :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I used this recipe as a base, then went out on a limb a little with my own ideas. I added a couple large baked potatoes for texture. I pureed them just until somewhat whipped. Then I thought I would add carrots--so I cooked about a cup of baby carrots in the microwave, and pureed them as well. I also added a few dried cranberries to the blender when I was pureeing, then when the soup was all together, I threw in a handful just for good measure. I did not add milk or cream. I didn't add any oil to the squash when it was baking, so the soup was essentially fat-free. If using vegetable stock, it would also be vegetarian. I didn't use as much stock as it calls for in the recipe. I added more of the spices listed until it suited my taste, with the exception of the cayenne. The soup was so flavorful, it didn't need it. I took it to a gathering--there was a huge pot, and about 10 people to share it. It was all gone by the end of the evening with the exception of about two cupfuls and people were arguing over who was going to get to take it home to have for lunch the next day. Many people called to ask for the recipe because they heard about it. It is absolutely awesome. BTW I used hubbard squash and it tasted just fine. I acquired a huge one from a friend, now she says she'll never give me another one so she can make the squash soup herself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I chose this recipe because butternut squash soup can sometimes be too sweet for me...and this ended up being perfect! The only major change I made was to triple the four spices, which I would recommend. I also used coconut oil instead of butter, vegetable broth (36 oz) instead of chicken, wine instead of sherry, and only used 1/2 cup of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
LOVE IT! I made this twice in 2 days. My boyfriend, who claims to hate squash and kept saying "I can't promise to like it" can't get enough. I couldn't find sherry at the store so I just went with a half cup of Chardonnay. I also added fresh rosemary. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pianoducky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
It is hard for me to fairly rate this soup because I didn't have sherry so it was too blande for us. I did add maple syrup instead and this help. I would love to try it again with the sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Townshend, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
The flavor of this soup was amazing.. My husband said it was the best he had ever had... loved the little bite that the cayanne pepper gave the soup. Rich, hearty and delicious... this is a keeper and we love it. Can't wait to make if for a family gathering..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stitchhappy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Freeport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Loved it with a few changes: Per other suggestions, I used apples (and one small white potato), doubled the spices (except the cayenne pepper), added finely chopped sage and rosemary to build the flavor. I used a non-dairy milk (soy milk) instead. I didn't even need to use all the broth the recipe suggested. This will definitely be a staple in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
The soup has a wonderful taste, but it turned out rather thin. I would add less liquid next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Juniper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States