Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Outstanding! Tastes like fall :) love the spies. I didn't even use the sour cream or half and half and it comes out phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexg02176

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Probably my least favorite butternut squash soup ever. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out really thin. I think there is way too much broth + the other liquid from the sherry and half-n-half didn't help. The onion/leek/sherry overpowered the taste of the squash and the spices just seemed weird. I'm not sure if there was a typo in the amount of broth, but if I was ever to make this again (probably won't) I would halve the amount of liquid and skip the sherry. The reason I gave it 2 stars was because the rest of my family actually really liked it. My 3yo kids ate 3 bowls of it in one sitting and my 16mo kept asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I have tried this soup following the original recipe and with others suggestions, and it is fantastic the only thing I added on my own was creme friache which just made it even more special. My husband and family love it and request it often. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
This was a wonderful recipe. The changes I implemented were: used homemade chicken stock; only used 1/4 cup of sherry (very dry); I felt the half & half cream would be too heavy, I used 2tblsp butter, 3 tblsp flour and 2 cups of skim milk, cook, thicken and puree with squash mixture. I used the spices as noted. Wow -- great with home baked bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Lindsey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Excellent soup!! Followed the recipe according to what was in my pantry, subbed canned evaporated milk for 1/2 n 1/2, did not have a leek but all other ingredients made this an over the top flavorful soup. Also, did take another reviewer's recommendation to use a bit of fresh rosemary, and that added alot to the mix of flavors. Will be using this again with all ingredients listed, so thanks for the post LuvMyFamily!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a HUGE hit! I added sugar pumpkin, cheese squash and acorn squash to mix it up a little. I also substituted shallots for the onion and added two apples. Just gave it a few more flavor layers. And to really impress people, serve it in a pumpkin or big squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I used low-fat greek yogurt instead of cream for a healthier version :) Also, make your own chicken stock! Boil a chicken in just enough water to cover it (add some slices of ginger and spring onions for flavor). Let it boil for around 10 minutes, then switch off the heat, and leave the lid on for 40 minutes. The chicken will be juicy and tender, and the stock is a million times better than the stuff out of the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Can't say enough about how great this is. Everyone loves it. No mods needed but did cheat by being a bit heavy on the spices. Have made twice on popular demand. Outstanding!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I made this for Christmas dinner. It was FABULOUS! I had heavy whipping cream in the house so I used half that and half skim milk instead of "half and half". We froze the leftovers and it's still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States