Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
after roasting the squash, and sauteeing the onions, leek and garlic, i put all ingredients in the crock pot for the entire day. The result was a deep, rich flavor. The only thing i would change is i would omit the cayenne pepper or at least limit it to a sprinkle. The bite of the cayenned detracted from the rich, deep flavor of the soup. definetly would make this again without the cayenne. tx for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Excellent soup! I pretty much followed the recipe except I used 1 potato and 1 apple, next time I think I will probably use 2 apples and no potato. I didn't have any allspice so I substituted Pumpkin Pie Spice for all the spices. I also used milk instead. It wasn't as thick or creamy as I thought it would be but it was still really good. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
My wife loved it. I did not. It was expensive to make, took a long time and made a big mess. I scooped the mixture into a food processor from the hot pot on the stove and blended each batch. I suppose it was my fault, but while I did this, it often spilled onto the stove top. Then I had to use a second pot to receive the blended mixture. I had to wash two large pots and the food processor. I did use milk instead of half & half and apples instead of potatoes. It tasted okay, but not worth the bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hijaq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Very good soup. Out of necessity, I used one medium butternut squash, 2 TB bacon grease, 2 leeks, 3 cloves garlic, 6 cups chicken broth, no potatoes, no onions, and white wine instead of sherry. It was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn BD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bergen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This is soooo good. Made 1/2 recipe and wished I'd make the whole thing. Did not add wine or sour cream but stilll WILL MAKE AGAIN for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYLYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I made this for the first time using Boston Marrow Squash instead of Butternut, and it worked just fine. My husband really liked it. I would like to substitute the 1/2 n 1/2 for something non-dairy like unsweetened almond milk, but I'm not sure what I will lose in depth or flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Might be biased since I love this squash...oh well! I think I might have added 2x as much squash since I didn't measure...turned out a bit like stew but still very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Outstanding! Tastes like fall :) love the spies. I didn't even use the sour cream or half and half and it comes out phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexg02176

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Probably my least favorite butternut squash soup ever. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out really thin. I think there is way too much broth + the other liquid from the sherry and half-n-half didn't help. The onion/leek/sherry overpowered the taste of the squash and the spices just seemed weird. I'm not sure if there was a typo in the amount of broth, but if I was ever to make this again (probably won't) I would halve the amount of liquid and skip the sherry. The reason I gave it 2 stars was because the rest of my family actually really liked it. My 3yo kids ate 3 bowls of it in one sitting and my 16mo kept asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States