Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Loved this recipe. Substituted the potatoes for a Lrg. white sweet potato, as well as no Cayenne but Chipotle, which added a bit of smokiness to the sweetness of the other spices. the soup was so rich that there was no need for half and half... DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Yes, this soup is amazing! I haven't bothered to try any other Butternut squash soup recipes since finding this one. My husband who wouldn't be in the same room as squash now loves this soup! Delicious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Yum! Love the flavors! HINT: Costco has organic cubed butternut squash already to go. Added a couple of carrots. Used 8 cups of low sodium broth. Doubled the spices to 1/4 tsp except the cayenne. Used 1/2 cup half-n-half and a 1/3 cup of cooking sherry. Delicious! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Love this soup. My family ask for this for the holidays. I also add ham for lunch meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Instead of chicken broth, I used fresh duck broth. Added Fresh Rosemary and a bit more garlic than they wanted! I used a little bit of smoked paprika also, along with fresh parmesan cheese! Served it with garlic croutons and of course the dollop of sour cream! I made this with left over butternut squash, turnip, parsnip and garlic that I had previously roasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kealasgram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Lots of work and didn't really care for the flavor - I'll keep looking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This recipe was good. Based on reviews, I subbed apples for potatoes and tripled the spices. Unfortunately I had no sherry and I will make sure to add it next time as something was definitely missing. I also sprinkled cinnamon on the leftovers and it definitely enhanced the flavor, so add cinnamon! If you all are looking for a more flavor in your BNS soup, check out the "Butternut Squash Soup with a Kick" recipe on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Wonderful soup. I cooked the squash with the potatoes adding them to the sauted leeks, onions and garlic. I also added two stalks of celery. I covered the mixture with 32 oz of chicken broth, as another reviewer mentioned the thinness of the final product, brought to a boil, covered and simmered for about 20 minutes. This cuts the cooking time in half (especially if you buy the peeled and cut up squash at the grocery store). I pureed with an immersion blender. I used 1/2 cup heavy cream instead of half and half. The potatoes give it the thicker texture even though I'm sure the apples provide another level of sweetness. I make a mushroom and bacon soup by Ann Burrel using a similar process. I will definitely make again!!! Maybe next time I'll add some spicy sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Very little flavor, even when doubling the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Great flavor. I do add quite a bit of fresh cracked pepper as I like a little bite to my food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States