Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Perfect. Don't leave out the sherry!!! This freezes well if you leave out the cream and add it only when you reheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: La Prairie, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Mountain, Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Loved this soup SO much, but I'm giving it four because of the time it took. Maybe it was because I never made it before. But honestly I will never be satisfied with another Butternut Squash Soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This was fantastic with a few additions! Like another reviewer, I added the puree from an acorn squash. I also doubled the spices with the exception of the cayenne pepper. It seemed still to be lacking something, so I tried a small amount with some finely ground rosemary. What a finish!! One word about the ingredient list. Even I, a seasoned (no pun intended)cook was momentarily confused by the listing--2 (49.5 oz) cans of chicken stock; and further interested in how the 49.5 oz. was arrived at since no combination of the popular can/box sizes (14, 28, 32 oz.) would total that amount. I settled for a 14 oz. can and a 32 oz. box of vegetable stock to good results. Who's going to quibble over 3.5 oz. anyway?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This was a good cold day soup. It is filling as well. I think the sherry overpowered some of the flavor so next time I make this dish I would lightened the sherry . Overall it has a nice subtle flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
This soup is fabulous! I have made it for several large groups and everyone always goes back for seconds. To save time and effort I recommend buying pre-cut Butternut Squash, as those things are a pain to cut. Trader Joe's sells one pound bags in the produce section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I enjoyed this soup. Simple to make and put together (once I figured out how to peel a cooked butternut squash, that is). The spices were just right. May also taste good with pumpkin. I was also impressed with how creamy it actually got. I tried it both plain and with a dollop of light sour cream, and the sour cream truly adds to the richness, I liked it best with it. My husband didn't care for this soup, he said it was "too sweet", but he refuses to eat any vegetables, so I don't count his opinion. I'm not giving up on this soup despite his input, I liked it and will continue to play with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
very nice - didnt bother with the food processor - was able to mash it in the pot and the sherry was absolutely the key ingredient. Didnt know what type of sherry to buy (had no idea there were different types so I went for the dry sherry - it tasted good but I got to wondering if the sweet sherry in the store was what I was meant to use?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This is a great starting point recipe. Everyone should play with the basic ingredients to suit their tastes. My soup came out absolutely delicious. I used a little more squash, and I added in acorn squash along with the butternut to deepen the flavor. I also cooked the squash ten minutes longer so it was really soft. I reduced the amount of chicken broth and half and half, added a little extra cayenne and ginger, and added a little brown sugar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I added silken tofu and instant mashed potatoes to thicken and enrich the soup. Some brown sugar helped,too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States