Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I was inspired by Jeff's picture today to make this. It needed a lot more of the spices (approx 1/2 tsp or more of each one) but it was heavenly otherwise. I used reduced fat half & half but would probably use evaporated milk or regular low fat milk next time. I'd make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Followed recipe exactly. DH loved it, the kids weren't thrilled & I thought it was good, but missing something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOWA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This was absolutely wonderful. I thought it would be good after reading the reviews, but it was even better. I did not have any sherry, so substituted in some red wine. I did not add the allspice or nutmeg as I did not have any. I did double up on the cayenne, as we like a bit more bite. I also added some shredded carrots along with the squash. I didn't add the optional sour cream, as it just did not need it. Thank you for submitting this recipe. It is my new favourite soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Very good! I omitted the allspice and topped mine with parmesan, fresh basil and roasted hazelnuts. Will also try the sour cream garnish with the leftover soup (of which there is very little). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This was the best butternut squash soup I've ever tasted! I didn't use large russet potatoes though, I used a few small potatoes, in case you're carb concious. And I didn't use as much cream. I highly recommend this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIozzo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Penfield, New York, USA
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This was pretty good. I like the fact that it is made with a healthy vegetable that doesn't often make its way to my table. I'm sure this is blasphemous but I didn't include the half and half or milk. When I got to that stage I just didn't think it needed it. The consistency is really pleasant without it. I served it for lunch on a "waiting for snow day." I served with a crusty bread, good hard cheese and sliced apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
My picky family even ate this! I made mine in a crockpot and didn't saute the vegtables. I just put everything in the crockpot except for the sherry and half and half, which I added at the end. I doubled all the seasonings except the cayenne pepper. I did use 2 potatoes and an apple. I will make again, and probably take Kimkitchen3 and use sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Like other posters, I suggest you start with less chicken broth because you can always add more to dilute it. Also, it's amazing how potent 1/8 tsp of cayenne is, so be careful! Seemed a little bland for my taste, so in the future I'd use apples rather than or in addition to potatoes, as the squash needs to sugar for the flavor to come out. I added more garlic to enhance the flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This is an awesome recipe! I have been searching for the longest time for a recipe that tastes like the Roasted Butternut Squash soup that is served in the Wolfgang Puck's cafes. The restaurant that was near us is gone now, so I haven't had that soup in a few years. I made a few changes to the recipe to try and replicate it. I used 12c water + 4ts of kosher salt in place of the chicken broth. I omitted the leeks and the sherry, added 1tb sugar, and I replaced the nutmeg with cinnamon. Although it has been several years since I had the soup at Pucks, this one sure is as good as I can remember it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty D Heyden

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I've been using this recipe for over a year now, about time I rated! This is the most wonderful soup in the universe. It makes so much, but I never have to throw a bit away, it always gets eaten. The only thing I do differently is use sweet potatoes in lieu of the white potatoes. Thanks so much for this wonderful comfort soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States