Spiced Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Something seemed missing.... But it could have been really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I must be doing something wrong. I wanted to like this soup so much that I tried it twice. The first time I made it as written and it came out blah, so the second time I used sweet potato instead of russet, doubled the spices, added cinnamon, and used curry instead of cayenne. Came out grainy and tasted ... strange. Can soup be both bland and overspiced? It tasted like my spice rack smells. I blame myself since everyone else seems pretty happy with the result. But I won't be trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Great flavor. I made a few modifications. I used a parsnip instead of the second potato, curry powder instead of cayenne (1-2 teaspoons), 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon, double the other spices, plus the juice of 1/4 of a lime. When serving, I drizzled some lime juice, a swirl of table cream and grated Parmesan cheese on top. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
We really like this recipe, especially as a jumping off point for our own take. We generally never completely follow a recipe, so I'm not going to hold that against it. The soup is a mellow, savory one that can stand up to a bit more spice, if that's your cup of tea. Best of all, my husband, who does not like squash LOVES this soup. This is one for the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Combest

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I have also been using this recipe for over a year and use sweet potatoes in lieu of the white potatoes. I love this soup. It tastes great even if I have no leeks or sherry on hand. I also only use a splash of cream or none at all and never sour cream. Because it is so good for you it tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Very good, but very difficult to make. I enjoyed it thoroughly, but I'm not sure if I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This is soup is absolutely amazing!! My boyfriend even loved it and he doesn't do veggies. I did make a few alterations after reading other reviews, recipes, and what items I had in my house. I used a butternut squash and an acorn squash. Then I replaced one of the potatoes with a sweet potato. I used all of the broth the recipe called for and I think next time I will add another 3/4 cup because of the extra squash I added. I doubled the spices including the cayenne pepper and then added a dash of curry powder (we like a little zing). I love lots of flavor and this is restaurant quality flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This is a great recipe. I did add an apple (granny smith), as another reviewer did, just out of curiosity. It was great and I'm sure the soup is just as good prepared as listed. I was skeptical of the taste as it was cooking - it just tasted ok, but after I added the sherry and cream, the soup just took off! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I read many times that something is missing and I have to agree. It tasted like liquid pumpkin pie to me. I think it needs more spice. I chopped up a jalapeno and threw in and I think it helped alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This was very good, but I think the cayenne pepper could be cut down alittle since I not a big fan of spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States