Spiced Butternut Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
These came out way too gooey and doughy. I thought that it sounded like a lot of squash and then to add so much milk seemed like a lot of liquid. I cooked them for 30 minutes and they were still too gooey.I won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
no complaints here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
A bit disappointing. They taste good... but I don't like the texture. They're heavy and dry. And they stick to the muffin liners. I think 400F is too high. I cooked a pound of squash (I doubled the recipe) in a steamer so the puree was not too much liquid. I should have double the amount of butter and cut down on the milk. I added a spoon of honey and one cup of nuts. Next time for a 9'' bread form, I'll rather start with 3 spoons of butter + 2 eggs + 1c sugar. Then add squash puree(500g uncooked) and nuts and honey. And alternately add mixed dry ingredients and 1 cup of milk. Bake at 350°c for 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Generaldine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I followed the directions, even weighing the squash and they came out really good. I used mini muffin pans. I'm thinking some kind of cream cheese frosting would make them heavenly:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I loved them! This was my first time a butternut squash and i ended up with 3 cups of squash and took advice of another review and doubled everything else. I did add about 3 tbs of brown sugar. Cooked for 20 minutes. This made 24 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This is a good recipe (except for the problem with how the amount of squash is listed--after reading reviews and a few other squash muffin recipes I used 3/4 cup of cooked, pureed acorn squash). I did tweak it for my family's tastes. I used Eggbeaters in place of the egg which worked fine. I also added a chopped Granny Smith apple. I think it would have been too strong of a squash taste for me without that but I really liked the apple and squash combo. That's a personal preference but if you really like the taste of squash--the recipe is good (nice texture in my opinion). I also used a half and half combination of cinnamon and nutmeg instead of the pumpkin pie spice (just wanted a different spice since we had a pumpkin pie recently). I made a glaze using apple juice and powdered sugar which was very good with the muffins and will likely entice my child to try them. :) I'm not sure "squash muffins" sounds good even to me....but I needed to use some and this turned out really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I thought these were really good! I substituted whole wheat flour for white (to make them a bit healthier) and brown sugar for the white (just my preference). I had to use 1/4 cup of the milk while pureeing the squash (I just added the remaining 1/2 cup to the mixture when it called for it). The muffins turned out really good, and are not overly sweet. I frosted them with some homemade cream cheese frosting to make cupcakes for my daughter's kindergarten class. I hope they all like them, so I can tell them afterward that they were made with a vegetable!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I tried this recipe. Only one reviewer talked about the doughy turn out of muffins. I ended up baking them about 45 minutes and muffin insides stayed like the inside of a churro but a little more moist. The flavors are good, I'd make it again but without the milk. I used mashed squash, and it was plenty moist without using the milk or only 1/4 cup milk. 3/4 is TOO MUCH. I realized cooking with butternut squash is very much like cooking with sweet potatoes, you really don't need any additional liquids, the vegetable alone is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Pretty good. The current ingredients need to be doubled and use 4 cups squash (whole butternut). I did half brown & half white sugar and added extra nutmeg. This would also taste yummy as a dessert with cream cheese frosting, or plain with chocolate chips and/or nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I had way too much squash to know what to do with until I stumbled upon this fantastic recipe!! I followed the recipe to a T until the very last second! After I put the batter into the muffin pan, I feared that these muffins would not do anything for me unless I added a sprinkle of brown sugar on top! I'm glad I did!! It gave just a little tiny crunch to every bite and made them a tad bit sweeter! Next time I think I'll add a chopped apple just for fun :-) Thanks for sharing this DELICIOUS recipe!! I look forward to having extra squash the next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homestyle Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States