Spiced Butternut Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was excellent. Used 1 cup butternut squash and improvides with spices: 1/2 tsp cinnamon 1/2 tsp ginger 1/2 tsp fresh cardamom 1/4 tsp paprika. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myoelastic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I thought these were gooey and tasteless. I followed the recipe although I was suspicious about the small amount of fat. I don't even have a suggestion for improval.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
DELICIOUS. 1 cup=1/2 pound butternut squash. Used 3/4 cup whole wheat flour, 3/4 all-purpose flour (instead of 1 1/2 cups all-purpose per recipe) and used 1/4 cup applesauce in place of butter. DELICIOUS. Will be making more later in the week. Husband loved them, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I'm lazy and just used a can of pureed butternut squash so maybe that made a difference but these muffins turned out PERFECT. I even subbed whole wheat flour for the white flour and the texture was still great. Love these! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I always spray the INSIDE of my paper muffin liners before putting the batter in them. Since I started doing this I have never had a problem with the muffin sticking to the liner. These have decent flavour, but they are quite gummy in the center, even though they are baked through. If I make again I will try using whole wheat flour since it makes things drier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kle_sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willowdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I used frozen squash instead of fresh which is super easy and tasty! I would add more sugar if u want a sweeter taste. What I like the most about the recipe is that it is not nearly a fattening as most muffins and u would never know :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lowcal-cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
These are such a nice treat! I wanted to use up some a squash that has been sitting around taunting and remembered squash muffins my mom used to make. My mom would be proud. I followed the recipe for the muffins and added cinnamon sugar and chopped walnuts on top before cooking. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kstuart623

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
These are very good muffins. I followed the directions exactly using a little over 1 cup fresh cooked butternut squash. They are a little gummy as the review say but they are still very flavorful. I used a mix of paper cups and foil cups. The foil baking cups did not stick at all. The paper cups stuck at first but then came off perfectly after they had sat for a day. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Very good. I was making these all Fall season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
These are so good. They have a cake like consistency and bake up soft and high. I used a cup of squash that I baked in the oven, but the muffins didn't come out that sweet or squash tasting, very subtle. The average person probably couldn't guess there is squash in them. I thought it tasted more like carrot cake. I mixed in some chocolate chips. I followed the recipe, except used whole wheat flour, applesauce instead of butter and added some flax. The baking time and temp were perfect, makes 12 large muffins, perfect texture, doesn't really paper baking cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States