Spiced Butternut Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was my first time using butternut squash. Not sure how I would like the flavor, this seemed like a fairly safe and easy recipe to undertake. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of using a mixture of cinnamon, cloves, allspice, and ginger instead of the pumpkin pie spices. My Dad ended up loving them! The flavor was fantastic. The end product didn't turn out quite as I had expected (the muffin got a little firm/tough on the outside). I will definitely try this recipe again, and try to add more squash (as I think it may have needed it to make it more moist.) Also, a word to the wise, my squash cooked extremely fast so be sure to keep a close eye on it. And the muffins take a little longer to cook than suggested, so be sure to check them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
A good use for leftover squash after the holiday meal. I doubled the ingredients and used 4 cups of cubed butternut squash. I didn't have enough flour on hand, so 1 cup was actually flax seed meal...which surprisingly resulted in a pretty tasty muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Bowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Great and creative way to use up extra squash!! I did use 1 cup whole wheat and 1/2 cup AP flour and about 1/4 cup white sugar. Since I had a lot of squash, I had closer to 1 1/4 cups. Went great with my veggie soup, but the true sign of approval came from my picky-eater friend who had 3 of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
These are so delicious! My sister thinks it's as good as pumpkin bread, and the little 3 year-old next door can't eat them fast enough! A little time consuming, but next time I'm making a triple batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss_Bodyworker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe! I had some roasted butternut squash and just used that instead of the chopping and boiling method. The muffins are incredibly moist, full of flavor and everyone loves them. Brought them to my daughters elementary school and they were gone in a flash. A real child and adult pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darla

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Yummy! I baked my squash for an hour, scooped out the innards, and pureed it. I used a cup of it for this recipe. I followed the recipe to a T, except for adding a little extra cloves and nutmeg! Oh, and I also added mini chocolate chips! =] I mixed slightly too much the first time and they were kind of tough, but the second time I mixed 'em til just barely moistened and they came out perfect! Will be making these all winter. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by california721

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
thanks for the recipe! delish! I use plain yogurt instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Tasty! Great way to use butternut squash from CSA box. Ended up doing as loaf so it was a little scant in the standard loaf pan, but was fine - just not "tall" in the pan. Sprayed pan with PAM and baked about 50min instead. Not too sweet, but nice flavor. Will try with actual pumpkin pie spice next time... didn't have any so made my own mix. Thank you for sharing this recipe! Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I thought the flavor of these was great. I didn't have pumpkin pie spice, so I used the combination of nutmeg, cinnamon, ginger, allspice and clove that another reviewer suggested and that worked well. I replaced the sugar with agave syrup and the flour with almond flour. Taste wise, that worked well, but the middle stayed a little mushy. I'll try that combo again, and tweak the amounts. Oh, I also decreased the oven temp a little and baked longer so that they wouldn't burn with the changes I made. Will definitely try again- really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
this recipe is very good...delicious! I made some changes from the original recipe...1 cup of APF + 1/2 cup of wheat flour instead.Defenitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States