Spiced Butternut Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
These are so delicious! My sister thinks it's as good as pumpkin bread, and the little 3 year-old next door can't eat them fast enough! A little time consuming, but next time I'm making a triple batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss_Bodyworker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe! I had some roasted butternut squash and just used that instead of the chopping and boiling method. The muffins are incredibly moist, full of flavor and everyone loves them. Brought them to my daughters elementary school and they were gone in a flash. A real child and adult pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darla

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Yummy! I baked my squash for an hour, scooped out the innards, and pureed it. I used a cup of it for this recipe. I followed the recipe to a T, except for adding a little extra cloves and nutmeg! Oh, and I also added mini chocolate chips! =] I mixed slightly too much the first time and they were kind of tough, but the second time I mixed 'em til just barely moistened and they came out perfect! Will be making these all winter. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by california721

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
thanks for the recipe! delish! I use plain yogurt instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Tasty! Great way to use butternut squash from CSA box. Ended up doing as loaf so it was a little scant in the standard loaf pan, but was fine - just not "tall" in the pan. Sprayed pan with PAM and baked about 50min instead. Not too sweet, but nice flavor. Will try with actual pumpkin pie spice next time... didn't have any so made my own mix. Thank you for sharing this recipe! Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I thought the flavor of these was great. I didn't have pumpkin pie spice, so I used the combination of nutmeg, cinnamon, ginger, allspice and clove that another reviewer suggested and that worked well. I replaced the sugar with agave syrup and the flour with almond flour. Taste wise, that worked well, but the middle stayed a little mushy. I'll try that combo again, and tweak the amounts. Oh, I also decreased the oven temp a little and baked longer so that they wouldn't burn with the changes I made. Will definitely try again- really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
this recipe is very good...delicious! I made some changes from the original recipe...1 cup of APF + 1/2 cup of wheat flour instead.Defenitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was excellent. Used 1 cup butternut squash and improvides with spices: 1/2 tsp cinnamon 1/2 tsp ginger 1/2 tsp fresh cardamom 1/4 tsp paprika. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myoelastic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I thought these were gooey and tasteless. I followed the recipe although I was suspicious about the small amount of fat. I don't even have a suggestion for improval.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
DELICIOUS. 1 cup=1/2 pound butternut squash. Used 3/4 cup whole wheat flour, 3/4 all-purpose flour (instead of 1 1/2 cups all-purpose per recipe) and used 1/4 cup applesauce in place of butter. DELICIOUS. Will be making more later in the week. Husband loved them, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States