Spiced Butternut Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Please help! I followed the instructions and I measured 1 cup of squash for 12 muffins, but the inside of my muffins would not finish baking. The outside was great, but the inside was very mushy. What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Made these to use up some butternut puree. They tasted okay, but were quite sticky. I couldn't get them to peel out of the papers very well, which might have been my fault. I just feel like too much was wasted due to the this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Tasted great! But were doughy and a little dense, but we still finished them off. Will keep trying to figure out a way to make them less doughy, maybe mini muffins like someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Like some other reviewers, I had issues with them sticking to the cupcake liners. The flavor was okay, but the texture was somewhat tough. I know better than to overmix muffin batter, so it wasn't that. I was disappointed and no one is eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYCALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
The flavor was very good, but I wish I'd been able to get a smoother puree. I added chocolate chips on top. Yum! However, the muffins stuck to the papers very badly. It seemed like about half of the muffin was permanently adhered to the paper. (I used a kitchen scale for my muffins, too, and half a pound was about 2 cups of cubes, 3/4 c puree.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I made these twice, because I really wanted them to work, but both times they were spongy and gluey in the center. The flavor is wonderful, enough so you want to eat them even tho the texture is not right. I weighed and measured very carefully the second time so I don't knowwhat went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
These came out really good, but doughy in the center even after I baked them for a few extra minutes. They're just the right amount of sweetness and adding some extra cinnamon makes them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
My kids and I loved these muffins! I got a ton of butternut squash from my co-op this fall, cooked and froze it. None of us liked it in the traditional squash soup, so this was a great way to use up our squash and make healthy muffins. I used 1 c. squash and 100% whole wheat flour, and they turned out great. I added raisins to one batch and that was fantastic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Awesome! My husband doesn't even like squash and he loves these! Next time I have to take muffins somewhere, I am going to make these. I may try them with pumpkin instead of squash though just because my husband loves pumpkin so much. Thanks for posting this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifenmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
The recipe was good but I added brown sugar instead of white, Vanilla extract and applesauce to add moisture. The squash really needs to be blended well because it can be stringy in the muffins. For a added treat add just a few dark chocolate chips to the top, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States