Spiced Butternut Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Mmmm....Light and fluffy these muffins were perfect and so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I totally veganized this recipe....and I had started making it when I began ro read reviews and then promptly doubled my recipe when I realized that the whole butternut squash I had boiling was gonna be way too much for the recipe as is, I also added some vanilla extract, used vanilla flavored almond milk, cornstarch to replace eggs, and unsweetened applesauce instead of the oil or was it butter that the recipe called for...anyway baked them for about twenty five minutes or so on 400 degrees and some of them were still a little mushy and chewy on the inside, even though I had tested and they seemed done. I made a dozen and a half and still have alot of batter left over, to it I will add a little more sugar and a little more pumpkin pie spice and I don't have any on hand right now but in the future I will use a little butter flavor extract along with the vanilla extract....they are okay, but there is just a little bit of ummph!!! Missing. But I will make again for sure, I think it's worth it to get it just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
These muffins were delicious! Very moist and flavorful. I roasted my squash and pureed it and used 1 cup of puree and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tessa Olson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
These are a great comfort food straight out of the oven. My husband doesn't care for squash soup so I used up the leftovers this way. I added cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and allspice, plus about 1/4 cup of lowfat sour cream to keep them moist. This added about 5 minutes to the baking time, but they ended up very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
The muffins turned out too light and doughy. Not enough of something. We still ate them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Yum! These were great! Similar to pumpkin muffins, but not the same. As for the reviewer who claimed that a half pound of squash was "a lot," I'm not really sure what happened because a whole butternut squash is only about three pounds anyway. My only problem with these was that after I took them out of the oven, most of their domes sunk back down. I'm not sure what happened, so I will have to try it again and see if I can improve them! Nonetheless, they tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Delicious! Had too much butternut squash to know what to do with and stumbled across this recipe. I used applesauce instead of butter, and 2 tsp vanilla extract and a healthy sprinkle (or dump) of cinnamon. I baked in paper cups sprayed with cooking spray, and they stuck somewhat less. Very fluffy, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Only rated 4 stars as it is written but turned out 5 stars with the changes I made. I was looking for something different to do with my leftover butternut squash and decided to give these a try despite some of the mixed reviews of people saying these didn't cook through. I already had the cooked squash and pureed that to make 1 cup. I also added 1/2 tsp. baking soda and 1 tsp. vanilla extract to the mix. I also made the change of doing 3/4 cup whole wheat flour and 3/4 cup all purpose and added 1/4 cup brown sugar (for added sweetness) on top of the 1/2 cup white sugar called for. I use silicone muffin liners sprayed with Pam and these popped right out when finished baking. They don't rise very much and they are a dense muffin but they are nicely spiced and you would never know that they are made with squash! By only filling liners 1/2 full they did cook in the amount of time called for, flavors come through more the next day. Will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Measured 8oz of squash - worked out to be 1/2 of my squash. Made them as mini-muffins and left out the tbs of butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
well this was extremely interesting. First I'd like to say my family LOVED the outcome. I used coconut milk and almond flour because we are trying to go into the SCD/GAPS diet... anyway it cooked for MUCH longer than 20 min...probably like a little more than an hour... I had the oven on 350 then turned down to 300 for the last 20min. It just seemed like it would never get bread like (it was still liquidy). Anyway, the result was still more like a mashed potato consistency. But I'm telling you my boys and hub ate it quick! They all loved it and 2 had seconds. And they did not like the butternut soup I had made yesterday so I was more than surprised. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States