Spiced Butternut Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I followed the directions, even weighing the squash and they came out really good. I used mini muffin pans. I'm thinking some kind of cream cheese frosting would make them heavenly:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I loved them! This was my first time a butternut squash and i ended up with 3 cups of squash and took advice of another review and doubled everything else. I did add about 3 tbs of brown sugar. Cooked for 20 minutes. This made 24 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This is a good recipe (except for the problem with how the amount of squash is listed--after reading reviews and a few other squash muffin recipes I used 3/4 cup of cooked, pureed acorn squash). I did tweak it for my family's tastes. I used Eggbeaters in place of the egg which worked fine. I also added a chopped Granny Smith apple. I think it would have been too strong of a squash taste for me without that but I really liked the apple and squash combo. That's a personal preference but if you really like the taste of squash--the recipe is good (nice texture in my opinion). I also used a half and half combination of cinnamon and nutmeg instead of the pumpkin pie spice (just wanted a different spice since we had a pumpkin pie recently). I made a glaze using apple juice and powdered sugar which was very good with the muffins and will likely entice my child to try them. :) I'm not sure "squash muffins" sounds good even to me....but I needed to use some and this turned out really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I thought these were really good! I substituted whole wheat flour for white (to make them a bit healthier) and brown sugar for the white (just my preference). I had to use 1/4 cup of the milk while pureeing the squash (I just added the remaining 1/2 cup to the mixture when it called for it). The muffins turned out really good, and are not overly sweet. I frosted them with some homemade cream cheese frosting to make cupcakes for my daughter's kindergarten class. I hope they all like them, so I can tell them afterward that they were made with a vegetable!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I tried this recipe. Only one reviewer talked about the doughy turn out of muffins. I ended up baking them about 45 minutes and muffin insides stayed like the inside of a churro but a little more moist. The flavors are good, I'd make it again but without the milk. I used mashed squash, and it was plenty moist without using the milk or only 1/4 cup milk. 3/4 is TOO MUCH. I realized cooking with butternut squash is very much like cooking with sweet potatoes, you really don't need any additional liquids, the vegetable alone is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Pretty good. The current ingredients need to be doubled and use 4 cups squash (whole butternut). I did half brown & half white sugar and added extra nutmeg. This would also taste yummy as a dessert with cream cheese frosting, or plain with chocolate chips and/or nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I had way too much squash to know what to do with until I stumbled upon this fantastic recipe!! I followed the recipe to a T until the very last second! After I put the batter into the muffin pan, I feared that these muffins would not do anything for me unless I added a sprinkle of brown sugar on top! I'm glad I did!! It gave just a little tiny crunch to every bite and made them a tad bit sweeter! Next time I think I'll add a chopped apple just for fun :-) Thanks for sharing this DELICIOUS recipe!! I look forward to having extra squash the next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homestyle Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Mmmm....Light and fluffy these muffins were perfect and so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I totally veganized this recipe....and I had started making it when I began ro read reviews and then promptly doubled my recipe when I realized that the whole butternut squash I had boiling was gonna be way too much for the recipe as is, I also added some vanilla extract, used vanilla flavored almond milk, cornstarch to replace eggs, and unsweetened applesauce instead of the oil or was it butter that the recipe called for...anyway baked them for about twenty five minutes or so on 400 degrees and some of them were still a little mushy and chewy on the inside, even though I had tested and they seemed done. I made a dozen and a half and still have alot of batter left over, to it I will add a little more sugar and a little more pumpkin pie spice and I don't have any on hand right now but in the future I will use a little butter flavor extract along with the vanilla extract....they are okay, but there is just a little bit of ummph!!! Missing. But I will make again for sure, I think it's worth it to get it just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
These muffins were delicious! Very moist and flavorful. I roasted my squash and pureed it and used 1 cup of puree and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Watch how to make this easy side dish of oven-baked butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States