Spiced Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This stew has a wonderful flavor. The only changes I made were to add 2 cubed potatoes, salt, and pepper. I also cooked it on the stovetop, not in the oven. I'm not normally a big stew fan, but I'll make this often! Thanks so much for the recipe... It's the best I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
This is more a soup than a stew, but it is still one of the best recipes I have ever tried. I made this a year ago and have been dreaming about it ever since. The only change I made was using fresh carrot and potato instead of frozen veggies. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Santiago De Compostela, Galicia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
terrific! I'm stuffed but could easily go back for thirds. Used the crock pot about 6 to 7 hours which was plenty of time. Used the whole beer (Bud) yet there was no bitter taste I think it gave a bit of a barley flavor. I also used 3 garlic cloves rather than 2. Salt and Pepper on meat before browning and added celery. Thanks for a great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by landsend

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wahoo, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I adapted this recipe to make it even more low carb! I used Splenda instead of brown sugar, less onion, green beans only instead of mixed veggies, & Michelob Ultra. This is a yummy beefy stew with a thin but flavorful gravy! I did add a few grinds of pepper. Thanks, Corwynn!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This recipe wasn't as good as I expected after reading everyones review. I did this recipe in a crock-pot and it came out very bland. it needs more spices or at least some salt. When I had the leftover the next day it wasn't any better. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Very tasty! I did leave out the beer! When seeing the recipe, I had never heard of brown sugar in a stew before, so I followed everything except for the beer. The brown sugar added a nice flavor. I added extra beef bullion in place of the beer. Along with big, fluffy biscuits, it was an excellent dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Very disappointing. Bland and very beery tasting. Also seemed like something was missing. Didn't like using canned veggies either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This stew was pretty good in the crockpot all day on low. I added a packet of brown gravy mix and used fresh potatoes, onions, and carrots. I also used almost an entire bottle of Coor's (all I had on hand). I was a bit concerned that it might be bitter, but the beer taste wasn't really there at all. 'Course that could have been the choice of beer I used. Next time I will use a dark beer. I like this stew for its brown gravy; next time I might thicken the gravy a bit, but my family loved it all the same! Thank you for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Not sure why this is called "spiced" since it doesn't have many spices, but it is truly delicious. We followed the recipe exactly, but instead of adding mixed vegetables, I added chunks of peeled red potatoes, carrots, and some frozen peas at the end. As well, I seasoned the meat with kosher salt and black pepper before browning. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aCookInLaQuintaCA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
My husband LOVED this, and the kids even seemed to enjoy it. Great for a cold evening! I made it in the crockpot, subbed more broth for the beer, and used frozen veggies instead of canned. I have been looking for a basic, classic stew recipe for a long time. (Still learning the basics of cooking) I am SO happy to have found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States