Spiced Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Rich and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Was great with Guiness. Really easy to make as well. ( for a beginner). Will be keeping this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I'm not a stew person but loved this recipe with the following changes:braised the beef with flour and s &p, deleted the mixed canned veggies and added sweet potato chunks and raw carrots instead. Also added more dried thyme, some rosemary and savory. I put all the raw vegetables in the oven with the rest of the ingredients and foujnd after 1.5 hours, it was perfectly done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I made a gluten free version of this and it was delicious. When I saw that it was a stew, I cringed because I remember stews being bland with tough meat when I was growing up. I ended up doubling the recipe, using chicken broth because I ran out of beef broth, used fresh carrots, celery, and added potatoes for some bulk. It was very filling and the meat was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
OMG! Awesome recipe! I made it today and it does not compare to any beef stew I have ever had. Tastes AWESOME! 5 Stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Excellent flavor! A big hit at my house. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I really like this stew recipe but use it only a guide. I use fresh carrots, potatoes and celery. I try a different beer every time I cook, so far the favorite is Blue Moon. I up the liquids to 3 cans of broth and 1 1/2 to 2 beers. The potatoes and celery soak up the juices. The next day this stew is divine, the flavors really come out. And it thickens up a lot so I add water as needed to thin it out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLAIRDNJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Brandon, Suffolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This was so delicious! and I'm not usually a big beef stew fan. I gave it four stars only because I changed it a little. I put a chopped up sweet potato and diced fresh carrot in right before I put it in the oven. The sweet potatoes were a great compliment to the meat and the slightly sweet sauce. GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
PERFECT! I used fresh cut up veggies and left out the butter, used olive oil instead. It was sooooo yummy. Unfortunately I used the only beer in the house "Fin du Monde" a Quebec micro-brewery I think. The beer by itself is one of the best I've ever tasted and my husband was a little miffed that I used the good one to cook with, hee hee. I'd like to make it again with a cheaper beer and see if there is much of a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
The butter/beer/beef broth/dried thyme make an incredible gravy which serves as the base to this recipe. I added diced new potatoes (left the skins on), fresh cracked black pepper, and sea salt along the way. I made this on the stove top instead of in the oven. The brown sugar adds a nice background sweetness. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States