Spiced Applesauce Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Great bread! I used unsweetened applesauce, and only 1/2 c. of sugar and it was still sweet enough to please my kids! I substituted a cup of whole wheat flour for a cup of the all-purpose, increasing the spices by a bit. I baked it for the directed time (at 325 since I was using a glass pan) and it came out very moist and tasty! Thanks! **I make this recipe almost every week now for my kids to snack on and I think I've perfected it to suit their taste -- I add 3/4 c. chopped apples, 3/4 c. chopped pecans and I'm down to 1/3 c. of BROWN sugar. Super duper yummy**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
This was a very easy bread. Everyone enjoyed it. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
this recipe makes a very nice bread. i used chunky applesauce, added a 1/2 cup raisins & doubled the spices. thanks louise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
This was GREAT I added raisins and a bit more spice (my husband loved it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Gustafson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
THIS ONE"S A KEEPER! I am definitely a beginner when it comes to baking, but this was really easy! And it took very little time to prepare. I didn't have allspice, so I used a dash each of ginger and cloves, and used 3 eggwhites instead of two whole eggs. Also I used Motts chunky applesauce, so there are little apple chunks throughout. Next time I'll play with extract flavors or maybe chocolate chips...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
I used less than half the white sugar but added a brown sugar and cinnamon mixture in the middle (divide the batter in two) and as a topping. It was delicious and moist and beats grating apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
Loved it. So easy. I used (by accident) a whole egg plus an egg white instead of two whole eggs-I was worried but the result was a wonderful light-as-air bread with yummy apple flavor. Try to use unsweetened no sugar added natural apple sauce if possible. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
Very good and simple to make. I added half a cup of raisins, and baked the loaf 55 minutes in a dark metal pan. My family asked me to make this again before the first loaf was gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
This was a yummy, easy to make quick bread. It will smell like heaven while baking--and it tastes great too. Not too sweet, great moist texture. For me, the recipe worked great as is. The baking temp and time worked like a charm. And I truly love these autumn spices (pumpkin bread is a favorite of mine) so I felt that the spice levels tasted great to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
My family loved this bread! I put "Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting" on the top. It was a hit! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States