Spiced Applesauce Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
My family loved this bread! I put "Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting" on the top. It was a hit! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Great bread! I used unsweetened applesauce, and only 1/2 c. of sugar and it was still sweet enough to please my kids! I substituted a cup of whole wheat flour for a cup of the all-purpose, increasing the spices by a bit. I baked it for the directed time (at 325 since I was using a glass pan) and it came out very moist and tasty! Thanks! **I make this recipe almost every week now for my kids to snack on and I think I've perfected it to suit their taste -- I add 3/4 c. chopped apples, 3/4 c. chopped pecans and I'm down to 1/3 c. of BROWN sugar. Super duper yummy**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
This was a very easy bread. Everyone enjoyed it. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
this recipe makes a very nice bread. i used chunky applesauce, added a 1/2 cup raisins & doubled the spices. thanks louise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
I used less than half the white sugar but added a brown sugar and cinnamon mixture in the middle (divide the batter in two) and as a topping. It was delicious and moist and beats grating apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
Loved it. So easy. I used (by accident) a whole egg plus an egg white instead of two whole eggs-I was worried but the result was a wonderful light-as-air bread with yummy apple flavor. Try to use unsweetened no sugar added natural apple sauce if possible. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
This was GREAT I added raisins and a bit more spice (my husband loved it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Gustafson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
Very good and simple to make. I added half a cup of raisins, and baked the loaf 55 minutes in a dark metal pan. My family asked me to make this again before the first loaf was gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
THIS ONE"S A KEEPER! I am definitely a beginner when it comes to baking, but this was really easy! And it took very little time to prepare. I didn't have allspice, so I used a dash each of ginger and cloves, and used 3 eggwhites instead of two whole eggs. Also I used Motts chunky applesauce, so there are little apple chunks throughout. Next time I'll play with extract flavors or maybe chocolate chips...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
This was a yummy, easy to make quick bread. It will smell like heaven while baking--and it tastes great too. Not too sweet, great moist texture. For me, the recipe worked great as is. The baking temp and time worked like a charm. And I truly love these autumn spices (pumpkin bread is a favorite of mine) so I felt that the spice levels tasted great to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States