Spiced Applesauce Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I have to give this bread a four star rating as written, but by incorporating some different reviewers suggestions, this bread is definitiely a 5+!! First of all, I used 1 1/2 cups of chunky applesauce and only 1/4 cup of oil. I also used 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I doubled all the spices- this was definitely a must for me. I didn't think the bread was even that spicy like that, especially for a recipe called SPICED Applesauce Bread. I added a crumb topping of 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup chopped pecans and 1/2 tsp. cinnamon as well. This turned this bread into a real treat! I loved how moist the bread was, and it made my house smell amazing while it baked. I'm definitely not a baker (cooking is much more my cup of tea), so if I can make an amazing applesauce bread with this recipe, anybody can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Good, very moist, but as others mentioned, the original recipe lacks sweetness and spice. This is a great base recipe and making it better is quite simple. It does need more sweetness, so the 2nd time, I increased the sugar by a 1/4 cup. Use all brown sugar for more flavor. And doubling the cinnamon and nutmeg is a must. I also sprinkle the top with brown sugar b4 baking, which makes a nice, crunchy sweet crust on top. Cooking time is definitely longer than 1 hour considering how much moisture is in this. I baked mine for 1 hour, 15 min. Was perfectly moist. And add 1 cup chopped apples. The apples will cook down and be tender and adds more flavor to this. 1 cup = 1 medium sized apple. Kids love this bread and with slight alterations, it's 5 stars. Tip -cover tightly with foil to let it steam for 30 min. or more. This locks in the moisture and a trick for all loaf breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I'm going to give this recipe five stars even with my changes. Seems only fair. I've been doing my best to use what I had on hand so making this bread was a challenge. I used half brown/half white sugar (I only had a half cup of white on hand) and added in another 1/4 c. of applesauce as I only had one egg. (I used homemade slow cooker applesauce that I made yesterday, a recipe also from this site.) Since I had little white flour on hand, I did a cup of white, then ground a half cup of oats in my blender and added that to a half cup of whole wheat flour to make a full cup. I also used a stick of margerine in place of the vegetable oil to make the batter fluffier. Before I put the loaves in the oven, I sprinkled some brown sugar over the top. They turned out beautifully. Not exactly according to the recipe, but workable with what I have on hand. Plus, they smell divine! For those of you who are thinking of making this, use a homemade chunky applesauce. You'll appreciate the flavor and texture better with homemade over storebought. BTW, this made two loaves that were a bit on the thinner side, to decrease cooking time. EDITED TO ADD: This bread turned out SO good. Try it with my changes. You'll thank me. We've already eaten one of the loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Great bread! I used unsweetened applesauce, and only 1/2 c. of sugar and it was still sweet enough to please my kids! I substituted a cup of whole wheat flour for a cup of the all-purpose, increasing the spices by a bit. I baked it for the directed time (at 325 since I was using a glass pan) and it came out very moist and tasty! Thanks! **I make this recipe almost every week now for my kids to snack on and I think I've perfected it to suit their taste -- I add 3/4 c. chopped apples, 3/4 c. chopped pecans and I'm down to 1/3 c. of BROWN sugar. Super duper yummy**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Wow! This is one fabulous applesauce bread! It's so moist and delicious, it's definitely one I'd make again. Plus it's a great way to use up the last of the applesauce. It's also a great base to "tweak" this to whatever you have on hand or whatever your tastebuds desire. I opted to use butter vs. veg. oil and creamed that will all brown sugar until nice and fluffy. I used chunky applesauce and added an additional chopped apple. The more apple flavor the better, right? I doubled the amount of cinnamon and nutmeg and added 1 heaping tsp. of vanilla. I left out the nuts as I didn't have any on hand. I topped this with some turbinado sugar before topping it into the oven to give it some added crunch and baked for a little over an hour. It smelled heavenly and tasted wonderful - perfect with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2005
A sweet, homey treat. I am not usually happy with loaves made with oil, so I substituted 1/2 cup of shortening and creamed it with the sugar before adding the wet and then dry ingredients. It is also good when you add 3/4 cup of raisins (soak in hot water for 15 minutes and then drain well). And I always add a struesel crumb mixture made from 1 cup flour, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/8 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp baking soda, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 cup soft butter. Cut all ingredients together until crumbly. Top loaves with about 1/4 inch of topping and press lightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Fantastic recipe. It stays moist for a few days when covered, and is nice for a quick breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
I found the perfect recipe to use up some extra applesauce I had in the frig! I made muffins out of this recipe to take into work for a Monday morning treat. I used half white sugar/half light brown sugar, and only a 1/4 cup of oil. You can also use Apple Pie spice, which combines all the spices in this recipe into one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
Good flavor, though a tiny bit bland- maybe needed more sugar. I added a cup of chopped fresh apples, which added texture. The directions mentioned pecans, but they weren't listed in the ingredients, so I added 1/2 cup. My kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
GREAT recipe. I am a 15-year-old and at a beginner/intermediate level in baking, but this recipe was incredibly easy. I did modify the recipe a bit, though. First of all, I had no pecans, but I did add walnuts (about 3/4 cup) and chopped apples (same amount). Second, I used 1 cup whole wheat flower and one cup all-purpose, and instead of using 2 eggs I used 3 egg whites. I only used about 1/8 cup of vegetable oil and substituted the rest with applesauce. I ended up using 1/2 cup BROWN sugar, and I used fat-free soymilk instead of regular. Lastly, I added a pinch of extra salt.I baked the cake at 350 for about 33 minutes. The cake came out looking very nice, having a nice texture and tasting great (you could definitely taste the spices, and I'm very glad I added chopped apples and nuts)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States