Spiced Applesauce Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I have to give this bread a four star rating as written, but by incorporating some different reviewers suggestions, this bread is definitiely a 5+!! First of all, I used 1 1/2 cups of chunky applesauce and only 1/4 cup of oil. I also used 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I doubled all the spices- this was definitely a must for me. I didn't think the bread was even that spicy like that, especially for a recipe called SPICED Applesauce Bread. I added a crumb topping of 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup chopped pecans and 1/2 tsp. cinnamon as well. This turned this bread into a real treat! I loved how moist the bread was, and it made my house smell amazing while it baked. I'm definitely not a baker (cooking is much more my cup of tea), so if I can make an amazing applesauce bread with this recipe, anybody can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Good, very moist, but as others mentioned, the original recipe lacks sweetness and spice. This is a great base recipe and making it better is quite simple. It does need more sweetness, so the 2nd time, I increased the sugar by a 1/4 cup. Use all brown sugar for more flavor. And doubling the cinnamon and nutmeg is a must. I also sprinkle the top with brown sugar b4 baking, which makes a nice, crunchy sweet crust on top. Cooking time is definitely longer than 1 hour considering how much moisture is in this. I baked mine for 1 hour, 15 min. Was perfectly moist. And add 1 cup chopped apples. The apples will cook down and be tender and adds more flavor to this. 1 cup = 1 medium sized apple. Kids love this bread and with slight alterations, it's 5 stars. Tip -cover tightly with foil to let it steam for 30 min. or more. This locks in the moisture and a trick for all loaf breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I'm going to give this recipe five stars even with my changes. Seems only fair. I've been doing my best to use what I had on hand so making this bread was a challenge. I used half brown/half white sugar (I only had a half cup of white on hand) and added in another 1/4 c. of applesauce as I only had one egg. (I used homemade slow cooker applesauce that I made yesterday, a recipe also from this site.) Since I had little white flour on hand, I did a cup of white, then ground a half cup of oats in my blender and added that to a half cup of whole wheat flour to make a full cup. I also used a stick of margerine in place of the vegetable oil to make the batter fluffier. Before I put the loaves in the oven, I sprinkled some brown sugar over the top. They turned out beautifully. Not exactly according to the recipe, but workable with what I have on hand. Plus, they smell divine! For those of you who are thinking of making this, use a homemade chunky applesauce. You'll appreciate the flavor and texture better with homemade over storebought. BTW, this made two loaves that were a bit on the thinner side, to decrease cooking time. EDITED TO ADD: This bread turned out SO good. Try it with my changes. You'll thank me. We've already eaten one of the loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Great bread! I used unsweetened applesauce, and only 1/2 c. of sugar and it was still sweet enough to please my kids! I substituted a cup of whole wheat flour for a cup of the all-purpose, increasing the spices by a bit. I baked it for the directed time (at 325 since I was using a glass pan) and it came out very moist and tasty! Thanks! **I make this recipe almost every week now for my kids to snack on and I think I've perfected it to suit their taste -- I add 3/4 c. chopped apples, 3/4 c. chopped pecans and I'm down to 1/3 c. of BROWN sugar. Super duper yummy**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Wow! This is one fabulous applesauce bread! It's so moist and delicious, it's definitely one I'd make again. Plus it's a great way to use up the last of the applesauce. It's also a great base to "tweak" this to whatever you have on hand or whatever your tastebuds desire. I opted to use butter vs. veg. oil and creamed that will all brown sugar until nice and fluffy. I used chunky applesauce and added an additional chopped apple. The more apple flavor the better, right? I doubled the amount of cinnamon and nutmeg and added 1 heaping tsp. of vanilla. I left out the nuts as I didn't have any on hand. I topped this with some turbinado sugar before topping it into the oven to give it some added crunch and baked for a little over an hour. It smelled heavenly and tasted wonderful - perfect with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2005
A sweet, homey treat. I am not usually happy with loaves made with oil, so I substituted 1/2 cup of shortening and creamed it with the sugar before adding the wet and then dry ingredients. It is also good when you add 3/4 cup of raisins (soak in hot water for 15 minutes and then drain well). And I always add a struesel crumb mixture made from 1 cup flour, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/8 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp baking soda, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 cup soft butter. Cut all ingredients together until crumbly. Top loaves with about 1/4 inch of topping and press lightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Fantastic recipe. It stays moist for a few days when covered, and is nice for a quick breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
I found the perfect recipe to use up some extra applesauce I had in the frig! I made muffins out of this recipe to take into work for a Monday morning treat. I used half white sugar/half light brown sugar, and only a 1/4 cup of oil. You can also use Apple Pie spice, which combines all the spices in this recipe into one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
Good flavor, though a tiny bit bland- maybe needed more sugar. I added a cup of chopped fresh apples, which added texture. The directions mentioned pecans, but they weren't listed in the ingredients, so I added 1/2 cup. My kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
GREAT recipe. I am a 15-year-old and at a beginner/intermediate level in baking, but this recipe was incredibly easy. I did modify the recipe a bit, though. First of all, I had no pecans, but I did add walnuts (about 3/4 cup) and chopped apples (same amount). Second, I used 1 cup whole wheat flower and one cup all-purpose, and instead of using 2 eggs I used 3 egg whites. I only used about 1/8 cup of vegetable oil and substituted the rest with applesauce. I ended up using 1/2 cup BROWN sugar, and I used fat-free soymilk instead of regular. Lastly, I added a pinch of extra salt.I baked the cake at 350 for about 33 minutes. The cake came out looking very nice, having a nice texture and tasting great (you could definitely taste the spices, and I'm very glad I added chopped apples and nuts)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States