Spiced Applesauce Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I got rave reviews when I took this to work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsByrd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I'm sure this is great as is but adding 1/16tsp cloves makes it so much better. Everyone loves it! Of course, I made it dairy & egg-free (vegan). Use Ener-G egg replacement or ground flaxseed mixed with water til a gel forms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJRsMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Turned out perfect! Just like my mom made us when we were kids. I doubled the spices, as people mentioned in other reviews, and also added some brown sugar and raisins. I made mine in miniature loaf pans and only cooked then for about 40 minutes. I will definitely be making this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
My family loved this applesauce bread. I doubled the amount of cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice. Plus I added 2 teaspoons of Apple Pie Spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I made this yesterday & added the suggestions of CTCOOK1. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
i found the bread a little bland even though I tripled the spices...I may have to try it again with more spices...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrichardson3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holmen, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Moist, delicious bread. I used 1 1/2 cups applesauce and reduced the oil to 1/4 cup. I also doubled the cinnamon, but left the nutmeg and allspice as directed. Baked these in mini loaf pans, and the topped with a cinnamon/vanilla glaze. It was wonderful warm from the oven, but even better today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I followed the recipe pretty closely and was pleased with the results. I did use 1/2 c. white sugar and 1/2 c. brown sugar, and I left out the nuts (personal preference). I did have to cover my pan with foil for the last 10 minutes as the loaf was getting dark. This recipe produced a moist loaf, slightly spicy bread. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Great recipe, although I do agree with the other reviews - you should add a chopped up apple to the batter for texture. I made a brown sugar, cinnamon and allspice mixture for on top of the bread and it gave it a nice spice crust. All in all, wonderful recipe as is and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDACEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Turned out perfectly. Mine took about 68 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States