Spiced Applesauce Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
i found the bread a little bland even though I tripled the spices...I may have to try it again with more spices...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrichardson3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holmen, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Moist, delicious bread. I used 1 1/2 cups applesauce and reduced the oil to 1/4 cup. I also doubled the cinnamon, but left the nutmeg and allspice as directed. Baked these in mini loaf pans, and the topped with a cinnamon/vanilla glaze. It was wonderful warm from the oven, but even better today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I followed the recipe pretty closely and was pleased with the results. I did use 1/2 c. white sugar and 1/2 c. brown sugar, and I left out the nuts (personal preference). I did have to cover my pan with foil for the last 10 minutes as the loaf was getting dark. This recipe produced a moist loaf, slightly spicy bread. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Great recipe, although I do agree with the other reviews - you should add a chopped up apple to the batter for texture. I made a brown sugar, cinnamon and allspice mixture for on top of the bread and it gave it a nice spice crust. All in all, wonderful recipe as is and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDACEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Turned out perfectly. Mine took about 68 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Migosh, this recipe got RAVES from my family and "orders" for more. This one is a keeper. Moist and apple-y, I will be making this one to give out for Christmas gifts. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Very delicious. Slices are great spread with peanut butter, as suggested in the description. I made as directed and thought it was perfectly sweet, and spiced enough for my tastes. Apples, more spices, toppings etc. probably are very delicious but this recipe as-written is really all you need. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I followed the recommended changes, doubled spices, reduce oil a bit, etc. This bread was so good that my adult son who was visiting ate nearly the whole loaf. I added some fresh golden raisins I had -- with the fresh raisins, no need to soak. I'm trying this again with some dried currents (not fresh, so soaked) and more raisins. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This is a great recipe! It is a very moist bread. I doubled the cinnamon and used homemade cinnamon applesauce. It was a hit with the entire family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
My entire family loved this bread! I love how moist and soft it is! I added cinnnamon and brown sugar on top after baking it to add just a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States