Spiced Applesauce Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
My two cents- definitely double the spices and replace at least half the oil with applesauce. I was surprised this called for any oil, since I know of many recipes where oil is omitted and applesauce used in its place. I think this would have been spectacular with pecans and apple chunks...It would have been a much different recipe, but I would have liked the texture differences. Also, I took the oven down to 325 half way through. Next time I would bake at 325 for 1 hr 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Great tasting, easy recipie. Very moist. Was a big hit at church and when I took two loaves to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcboy2000

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This was very good. I traded out half the white flour for wheat and added a Tablespoon of ground flax. The kids STILL loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Fantastic recipe. It stays moist for a few days when covered, and is nice for a quick breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
these came out really well, but didn't taste very much like applesauce as i had hoped. maybe next time, i'll put little diced chunks of apples, maybe some gravenstein or granny smith.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Whit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
yummy, easy, great starter to be creative
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
My family enjoyed this bread. I told them it was loaf cake and drizzled icing on top. It was really good, very moist and baked well at the time and temperature stated. I did add some extra cinnamon per other reveiws and subsituted cloves for the allspice for personal preference. Passed the picky child test!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Moultrie, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Definitely need to double the spices, but other than that, this bread is a keeper! Mine got a little dark around the corner edges as it needed to bake for another 10-15 minutes before it was done, but I can live with that. Very moist & flavorful! I didn't have pecans so I used almonds instead and it was pretty tasty, but I'll make sure I have pecans next time. They will definitely round this out nicely. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Came out soggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I love this bread, I use mostly cinnamon and add dried cranberries to this. It's a traditional present ever year for my friend's boyfriend and he eats is very very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States