Spiced Applesauce Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Very moist! Made without nuts and the milk. Sub the allspice with 1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves! 5300 ft. so had to cooked for 1hr and 10 mins. I covered with foil after 1 hr to stop burning on top. Came out very moist and yummy!!! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azdiamond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Followed previous suggestions about adjusting amount of applesauce, oil and spices. When I canned my own applesauce, I saved the excess apple juice. I used some of that in place of the milk for more apple flavor. Rehydrated dried apples (in microwave) can be added. Be sure to use unsweetened applesauce or it can get too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Following other suggestions, this bread was fantastic! I used 1 1/2 cups applesauce, 1/2 cup white sugar + 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup oil, then doubled all spices (including the salt, which it definitely needed). Mine had to bake about 1 hour, 10 minutes. Even at the end, a toothpick inserted in the middle still came out a little wet, but the edges were starting to *really* brown, so I pulled it out. Was perfect! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Although I accidentally baked this a little too long, it still came out dense, moist, and delicious (after the harder ends were cut off!). I doubled the spices and agree with some others that I will probably even triple the spices next time... but it was still gobbled up at the women's meeting I took this to! I noticed though after I cut it that it looks very nondescript... it could use some chopped apple pieces to jazz it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
pretty dry and was done completely at 40 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt B
Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Valley Mills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Excellent recipe. I used apple butter and omitted the seasonings as the apple butter was quite strong in flavor. They turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I can't give it more stars, b/c like so many, I altered the recipe. I doubled all the spices, cut the oil in half and added that amount in apple sauce, added a pinch of ground cloves, and added a tablespoon or so of apple cider vinegar. I think this would've come out as very moist, but I placed the pan on the top shelf, and noticed halfway through that the top was already brownish. So I cut down the temperature (325F) and placed the pan on the lowest rack. Total cook time was 1hr 20min. The top had a little crunch to it, but it really added to the flavor. However, the loaf came out drier...like a moist bread instead of a dense cake (what I thought the texture would be). Still I had no problem with the flavor. Very spiced, very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
With other reviews I knew to expect that this recipe be bland. When I used the milk I also added 1tbs of apple vinegar to it, it increases the sweetness and spiciness of the bread. I also doubled the spices as recommended and added a crunchy oat and brown sugar topping to the bread. Also, I greased the pan and dusted it with a cinnamon sugar mix. It made the bread magnifique. My finace' who normally hates applesauce bread, and begrudingly tried this 'new' recipe, ate the enitre loaf before it had cooled completely. Needless to say, I'm saving it with my alterations. ;-P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyBaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Pretty good, but for something called "spiced" it's not really. I even increased the spices somewhate, still didn't think it had much to it. But still tasty, and makes very nice french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This was a great bread to make. I read many reviews before making it and was a little disappointed that I didn't listen when everyone said to add more sugar. That said, as is the bread is really good with peanut butter spread on top! Next time I will definitely add more sugar and spice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thriftymommy32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States