Spiced Applesauce Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I made thie recipe EXACTLY as written: Husband and I liked this bread. Howerver if you are looking for a kid friendly Applesauce bread, this is not the recipe. It is NOT sweet...........AT ALL. My kids ate one slice right out of the oven and that was it. The blueberry bread I made last week was a bigger hit. (5 members of the family I rate on how many people actually liked a dish.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Wow! This is one fabulous applesauce bread! It's so moist and delicious, it's definitely one I'd make again. Plus it's a great way to use up the last of the applesauce. It's also a great base to "tweak" this to whatever you have on hand or whatever your tastebuds desire. I opted to use butter vs. veg. oil and creamed that will all brown sugar until nice and fluffy. I used chunky applesauce and added an additional chopped apple. The more apple flavor the better, right? I doubled the amount of cinnamon and nutmeg and added 1 heaping tsp. of vanilla. I left out the nuts as I didn't have any on hand. I topped this with some turbinado sugar before topping it into the oven to give it some added crunch and baked for a little over an hour. It smelled heavenly and tasted wonderful - perfect with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Amazingly moist and delicious bread. My family loves it. Easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This is fantastic! I had some homemade applesauce I wanted to use up and decided to try this recipe. I did make a few changes based on other reviews, I used only brown sugar, 1/4cup oil, 2 cups chopped apple and my own mixture of spices. I am sure that the recipe would have been wonderfull as written, but I prefer Brown sugar in this type of recipe to add a bit more dimention. Next time I will be making this with Splenda brown sugar blend to cut down the carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTAL88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
My family went wild for this bread! 5 stars for sure! I baked it and it was gone within 24 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peaceandlove4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I doubled the spices & it was still too bland. It tastes like the batter you would use for zucchini or banana bread This should be just called applesauce bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Other than using more spices than called for, I followed this recipe closely. It came out a bit bland. Thankfully, I pulled it out of the oven about 5 minutes early - it was already starting to burn around the edges. The bread was moist, but I'm sadly still on my hunt for the perfect applesauce bread/cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Very moist! Made without nuts and the milk. Sub the allspice with 1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves! 5300 ft. so had to cooked for 1hr and 10 mins. I covered with foil after 1 hr to stop burning on top. Came out very moist and yummy!!! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azdiamond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Followed previous suggestions about adjusting amount of applesauce, oil and spices. When I canned my own applesauce, I saved the excess apple juice. I used some of that in place of the milk for more apple flavor. Rehydrated dried apples (in microwave) can be added. Be sure to use unsweetened applesauce or it can get too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Following other suggestions, this bread was fantastic! I used 1 1/2 cups applesauce, 1/2 cup white sugar + 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup oil, then doubled all spices (including the salt, which it definitely needed). Mine had to bake about 1 hour, 10 minutes. Even at the end, a toothpick inserted in the middle still came out a little wet, but the edges were starting to *really* brown, so I pulled it out. Was perfect! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States