Spiced Applesauce Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Just ate my first slice and Wow, it is GOOD! I followed tips to double spices, 1 1/2 cups applesauce, and 1/2 white/1/2 brown sugar, and 1/4 cup oil. Will definitely make again. Also went with 1/2 whole wheat flour. Wonder how it would be with 1/2 the sugar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Only gave three stars because modifications are needed to the original recipe and you can't taste much of the apple. Used 1/3 c. of butter instead of oil, 1 1/2 c. applesauce and doubled spices as suggested in other reviews, baked about 55 min.. It is good and moist bread. I always line my pan with greased brown paper bags as my mother has always done with sweet breads. I buy the packages of lunch bags and trim a little off around the edges. Next time will try with some small pieces of apple to enhance the apple taste as suggested in some of the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I followed the recipe except for using some whole wheat flour in place of some white and walnuts instead of pecans. The bottom of the bread stuck to the pan. I didn't find the bread to be very flavorful. I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I would rate 4 stars as the recipe listed. If you follow the changes suggested by mommyfromseattle, 5 stars all the way!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I read some reviews and I tweaked this recipe as well. I doubled the spices, used raisins instead of pecans, about 1 cup and instead of 2 cups white four used 1/2 cup white, 1/2 cup wheat. THIS IS AWESOME, and everyone else that tried it was just sad there was not more. This will definitley be one of my new fav recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Was nice and moist, but very bland. i even doubled the cinnamon and added pumpkin pie spice. I didn't use nutmeg or allspice because I didn't have any on hand. Maybe this is the problem, but I don't thinkI will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Agree - would rate this 5 stars except the spices need to be increased substantially. I used 1 tsp. of all the spices, and it's perfect in my opinion - nice spice flavour. I also did what another reviewer suggested (I usually do this anyway) - decrease the oil to 1/4 cup and increase the applesauce to 1/2 cup to compensate. It's perfectly moist this way and much less fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Really good. I didn't use pecans but could have, a crunch would be tasty too. I think the spices taste good, but could be upped if you really want a 'spiced' bread. I made three loaves, and froze two. Still tastes divine thawed from the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This is absolutely wonderful. It smells great and is really moist. I can store it for at least a week and it's still great! I usually don't put in the pecans because I like the smooth texture without them. It's quite dense but I like that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I made thie recipe EXACTLY as written: Husband and I liked this bread. Howerver if you are looking for a kid friendly Applesauce bread, this is not the recipe. It is NOT sweet...........AT ALL. My kids ate one slice right out of the oven and that was it. The blueberry bread I made last week was a bigger hit. (5 members of the family I rate on how many people actually liked a dish.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States