Spiced Applesauce Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Fantastic bread! I had some homemade chunky applesauce in the fridge, so I used it in this recipe. Because there was quite a bit of liquid, I just omitted the milk. This made 3 (6 x 3 1/2) beautiful and tasty small pans of bread. I love having small loaves of quick breads in the freezer for my family and for sharing. Thanks LOUISE for sharing your recipe. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I doubled the spices, per others' suggestions, and even though the bread wasn't bad by any means, it still had a bland taste. It needed more apple flavor, so I may try the chunky applesauce idea next time or add in some chopped up apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
NEW FAVORITE!!!!!Adjusted recipe as other reviews mentioned by using all brown sugar, doubled spices & replaced milk with apple juice, topped with brown sugar. This will be made often at my house. Thank you!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was a nice moist bread but it said spiced and I felt it was lacking the spice. I even added a little extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennH
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This is really delicious. Kudos to all the reviewers who had such wonderful suggestions too - we added: 1/2 tsp ground cloves; doubled the nutmeg and cinnamon; halved the oil; used 3/4 cup brown and 1/2 cup white sugars; an extra 1/4 cup applesauce; a peeled and minced gala apple; a tsp vanilla; sprinkled the pan with sugar and cinnamon mixture after spraying with pam; used 1 cup white and 1 cup white wheat flour; and, sprinkled brown sugar and cinnamon over the top of the loaves before cooking. This made 3 mini loaf pans which were filled 3/4 full and rose perfectly while cooking to come slightly over the top of the pan. Not sure how long the cooking was - maybe 40 minutes before the toothpick test came out right. Wonderful for sharing with friends and family. Thanks for submitting this healthy (except for the sugars) and delicious (because of the sugars?) recipe for us to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
very good. adding nuts really completes it. i had overspiced homemade apple sauce and used it for this recipe. it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Great.!! I made this recipe today and it is great.!! I used "Spiced Slow Cooker Applesauce" from a recipe I got from this site. As regards this recipe, I only made one change in the basic recipe, in that I used 1 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice instead of the combination of listed spices. I made it in two medium size loaf pans; then as soon as it came out of the oven, while still in the pan, I glazed it with my favorite glaze: 1 cup of powdered sugar, a little oil and orange juice to the consistency you want.(I usually make it about the consistency of cake batter) Be sure to put plenty around the sides and ends of the pan to soak in good and let the loaf cool completely in the pan. Enjoy.!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hico, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Exactly as I wanted - perfectly sweetened, moist, and smelled delicious. I used half whole wheat flour and half white flour and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GlitterSpatula
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
It's ok. (Moist and edible) Didn't love it. I will say that I followed instructions (as I like to do before I make variations) but this spiced applesauce bread is not a "hit" for me. Not bad, but not great either. Can be tweaked, I think. Thanks for sharing. I did post a photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GlitterSpatula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I used Domata Flour, to make it gluten free, and cup up one peeled and cored apple instead of pecans. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamjimmyweber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States