Spiced Applesauce Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I used Domata Flour, to make it gluten free, and cup up one peeled and cored apple instead of pecans. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamjimmyweber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Made with twice the amount of spices called for still didn't find it was enough... good texture but kind of bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I like having this one in my baking repertoire. Found it was a little more special with the crumbled brown sugar on top before baking. Really good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lelena109
Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This is a tasty recipe. I give it as a gift on the holidays, however i add a glaze to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Just ate my first slice and Wow, it is GOOD! I followed tips to double spices, 1 1/2 cups applesauce, and 1/2 white/1/2 brown sugar, and 1/4 cup oil. Will definitely make again. Also went with 1/2 whole wheat flour. Wonder how it would be with 1/2 the sugar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Only gave three stars because modifications are needed to the original recipe and you can't taste much of the apple. Used 1/3 c. of butter instead of oil, 1 1/2 c. applesauce and doubled spices as suggested in other reviews, baked about 55 min.. It is good and moist bread. I always line my pan with greased brown paper bags as my mother has always done with sweet breads. I buy the packages of lunch bags and trim a little off around the edges. Next time will try with some small pieces of apple to enhance the apple taste as suggested in some of the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I followed the recipe except for using some whole wheat flour in place of some white and walnuts instead of pecans. The bottom of the bread stuck to the pan. I didn't find the bread to be very flavorful. I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I would rate 4 stars as the recipe listed. If you follow the changes suggested by mommyfromseattle, 5 stars all the way!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I read some reviews and I tweaked this recipe as well. I doubled the spices, used raisins instead of pecans, about 1 cup and instead of 2 cups white four used 1/2 cup white, 1/2 cup wheat. THIS IS AWESOME, and everyone else that tried it was just sad there was not more. This will definitley be one of my new fav recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Was nice and moist, but very bland. i even doubled the cinnamon and added pumpkin pie spice. I didn't use nutmeg or allspice because I didn't have any on hand. Maybe this is the problem, but I don't thinkI will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States