Spiced Applesauce Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This made a good breakfast. I used half wholewheat flour and left out the pecans. My girls and their boyfriends demolished this in one sitting. They particularly liked it with peanut butter as suggested by the submitter. Thanks for the recipe Louise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Terrific bread! I wish I had read the reviews before, otherwise I would have doubled the spices. Nonetheless, we really love this bread. It is moist and flavorful. I used cinnamon applesauce and added one chopped, peeled apple. After baking for 60 minutes it didn't test done, so I covered it with foil and baked for another 10 minutes - this worked great. This bread is even better one or two days after baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This is a very nice bread, moist & flavourful. I did double the spices but other than that didn't change a thing. My husband couldn't wait for a slice so had some warm with whipped cream on the side - he tells me it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was a very nice recipe and probably would have been better had I remembered that I was out of CINNAMON. Aarrggh. Extremely moist and a very generous loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I really wanted to like this bread based on all the good reviews it recieved. I just did not like it at all. It didn't have much flavor and it had a weird almost rubbery texture because of all the applesauce. I don't think I'll be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This is the perfect bread to make when you have a little applesauce left. Its very moist and has great flavor. Kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvncharley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Too moist after making adjustments one person mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Awesome. Moist and very tasty. Based on other reviews I added a little extra spice to it and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lord Burghley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Instead of applesauce I used Cranberry sauce. I added a tsp of Cardamon. bread was yummy and a pretty color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I am giving it 4 stars as written because I don't think it would have enough spice. I doubled all of the spices and added just a touch of nugmeg and it was a dense, moist and delicious bread. I think next time I would also add some chunks of apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States