Spiced Applesauce Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I really wanted to like this bread based on all the good reviews it recieved. I just did not like it at all. It didn't have much flavor and it had a weird almost rubbery texture because of all the applesauce. I don't think I'll be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This is the perfect bread to make when you have a little applesauce left. Its very moist and has great flavor. Kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvncharley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Too moist after making adjustments one person mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Awesome. Moist and very tasty. Based on other reviews I added a little extra spice to it and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lord Burghley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Instead of applesauce I used Cranberry sauce. I added a tsp of Cardamon. bread was yummy and a pretty color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I am giving it 4 stars as written because I don't think it would have enough spice. I doubled all of the spices and added just a touch of nugmeg and it was a dense, moist and delicious bread. I think next time I would also add some chunks of apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Love this! So yummy. Very dense loaf with a super-rich, moist crumb. I can't wait to share it. I baked exactly 60 min in my 20 year-old Maytag gas oven. I followed some of the advice of those who came before and doubled the spices, used 1/2c dark brown sugar, 1/2c white sugar, an extra 1/4c brown sugar and added 1 cup chopped apples. One important change I made was subbing apple butter for the apple sauce, which I didn't have on-hand. My loaf was VERY flavorful, nice and spicy. I suspect the apple butter had a lot to do with that and the exceptionally moist texture. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIGHTSTARRE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
awesome! easy & moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I have made this recipe a few times and it is good just as is, hence the 5 stars. That said, I think it is even better with a few modifications. I used half brown sugar and half white, added a tsp. of vanilla, doubled the cinnamon, and used unsweetened applesauce. If I'm in the mood for a healthier version with more fiber I'll omit a 1/2 c. of flour and replace it with 1/2 c. of old fashioned oats. I also think it looks nice to sprinkle 2 to 3 tbsp. of oats on top of the bread before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This was ok. I added chopped apples, wheat bran and oatmeal to the batter. I also used yogurt instead of oil and agave nectar instead of sugar. If i wouldn't have added the apples, it wouldn't have had any flavor. It definitely needs at least double the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States