Spiced Applesauce Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
We have a B&B and this bread is in our regular rotation. It is very easy to make, as is the cleanup. The recipe as written is very bland especially when you're calling it applesauce spice bread. I triple the listed spices and add 1/2 teaspoon ginger and 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves. I also add 1/2 teaspoon apple extract. It gets raves every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HannahRenee
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I added about a teaspoon and a half of vanilla extract to mine. I also used stone mini loaf pans so that I could give them as home-made gifts. I just eye-balled it and they were done in about 40 minutes instead of 60 for the larger loaves. If you use metal mini loaf pans, it probably will not take quite as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Very Yummy! (we did leave the pecans out though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
i give this four stars for being very good. since i made a good few changes to it, i rated it 4 out of 5. for the applesauce, i used the big name brand chunky applesauce which already has some cinnamon in it, the chunks of apples is really great in this. for the vegetable oil, i substituted coconut oil. it's just delicious using the fragrant coconut oil. i swapped out 1 cup of King Arthur organic whole wheat flour. KA flour is very finely milled and boosts the nutritional value without sacrificing a tender outcome for the bread. also, i used half brown sugar and half white. also, added 1/2 tsp of vanilla and skipped all the other spices except cinnamon and made that a very heaping tsp. also, threw in a scant 1/2 tsp of salt. and always have used walnuts just because it's what i mostly have around, though i'm sure the pecans are great in this. i've made this bread countless times now, using three mini bread tins rather than one large bread, baking for about 40 minutes or so at same oven temp. (easier to give them away as gifts and not keep so much of it around!) this is a very good recipe with room for personal touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Fantastic bread! I had some homemade chunky applesauce in the fridge, so I used it in this recipe. Because there was quite a bit of liquid, I just omitted the milk. This made 3 (6 x 3 1/2) beautiful and tasty small pans of bread. I love having small loaves of quick breads in the freezer for my family and for sharing. Thanks LOUISE for sharing your recipe. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I doubled the spices, per others' suggestions, and even though the bread wasn't bad by any means, it still had a bland taste. It needed more apple flavor, so I may try the chunky applesauce idea next time or add in some chopped up apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
NEW FAVORITE!!!!!Adjusted recipe as other reviews mentioned by using all brown sugar, doubled spices & replaced milk with apple juice, topped with brown sugar. This will be made often at my house. Thank you!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was a nice moist bread but it said spiced and I felt it was lacking the spice. I even added a little extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennH
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This is really delicious. Kudos to all the reviewers who had such wonderful suggestions too - we added: 1/2 tsp ground cloves; doubled the nutmeg and cinnamon; halved the oil; used 3/4 cup brown and 1/2 cup white sugars; an extra 1/4 cup applesauce; a peeled and minced gala apple; a tsp vanilla; sprinkled the pan with sugar and cinnamon mixture after spraying with pam; used 1 cup white and 1 cup white wheat flour; and, sprinkled brown sugar and cinnamon over the top of the loaves before cooking. This made 3 mini loaf pans which were filled 3/4 full and rose perfectly while cooking to come slightly over the top of the pan. Not sure how long the cooking was - maybe 40 minutes before the toothpick test came out right. Wonderful for sharing with friends and family. Thanks for submitting this healthy (except for the sugars) and delicious (because of the sugars?) recipe for us to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
very good. adding nuts really completes it. i had overspiced homemade apple sauce and used it for this recipe. it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States