Spiced Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I took another reviewers advice and prepared this to put over ice creme, with granola. It was great and loved by the company we served it to. This is an easy recipe and I suggest you don't just prepare this for the holidays. Its very versatile-great as a topping for ice creme, or by itself, its a great side dish. Easy to prepare too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
You will not need scented candles burning in your home to have a sweet smell of cinnamon, if you make this for your next party. The guests loved the taste of these simply prepared apples and my home had the scent of, well, Spiced Apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galena Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Lott, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I was skeptical but these apples were delicious! Big hit at our Thanksgiving dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
Thanks for this very good recipe! VERY EASY, just took time to peel... Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Huge hit at our Thanksgiving table. So easy and quick to make with the help of 2 granddaughters peeling apples while I sliced. Served warm as a side dish, and saved some for topping ice cream later. Great both ways. I plan to serve this warm over icecream for Bunco group. Looks pretty and so yummy. This recipe is a winner. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Thank you for a wonderful recipe. This was a nice addition to my Thanksgiving table. Everyone wanted seconds AND the recipe. I'll be making this quite often throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I have been making a version of this for about 15 years. It is beautiful and delicious! I do not add the sugar & lemon juice (really not necessary) and cook the apples & candies in a large, heavy skillet on top of the stove. Just cook until tender and mash them slightly - be sure and leave some chunks for texture. Had eaten something similar at one of my husband's class reunions and decided to try making it myself. Really dresses up a holiday plate! The spices in the candy are perfect for the apples. You can increase/decrease the color and spiciness by controlling the amount of candy you add. Do try and enjoy! You will not be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joanna, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
This were a big hit our family Christmas gathering. I didn't change a thing when making them, and they were wonderful. These turned out better, however, after letting them sit for a couple of hours. The color was beautiful and the taste was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Fast, easy, WONDERFUL! Doubled the recipe and they still all disappeared! Used Splenda instead of the sugar. Figured my diabetic sisters could have a few with the reduced sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
These are so yummy! And they are so pretty too! Good especially for Valentines Day or Christmas....the trick is finding the "litle red heart" candy at times other than Valentines Day. I stock up on them right after Valentines DAy,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States