Spiced Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Very good,followed exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christiane
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I love this one! Mmmm! I'll keep it handy! I needed to adapt the recipe since our microwave quit on us ;) SO, over the stove it was. I added some water in the pot on medium heat so the sugar wouldn't scorch but would melt the candies properly. Then let the water simmer off in the last 3 minutes of the cooking time. The apples (Honeycrisp instead of Granny Smith) turned out beautifully! These are even more yummy and cinnamon-y when chilled! Happy eating!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Great recipe - I cooked it on the stove instead of in the microwave. When I have trouble finding Red Hots, I use Fireballs instead - just not as many! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
We used to always have these at the holidays. My mom always left the apples in halves, let them cool and them filled them with sweetened cream cheese with chopped celery and pecans folded in. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsG

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
These were fun to make and they taste good! I purchased Hot Tamales from my market's bulk bin since I needed such a small quantity and they did not have Red Hots. I did have to remove the Hot Tamales gelatinous center after the cinnamon coating wore off. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
These were easy and delicious! A new favorite. I substituted Splenda or the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
My mother's recipe. Glad she could share it with everyone. We always had it on the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This is a wonderfully colorful recipe. I enjoy a little different version on my holiday table. Instead of slicing the apples, I cut them in rings. After cooking I chill the rings thoroughly. To serve: on small salad plates place some leafy green lettuce leaves, put an apple ring on top and place a tablespoon or so of crushed, well drained pineapple in the center of the ring. Makes a very pretty and festive dish at each place setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Douglas, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
These turned out better than I had thought they would. Kids absolutely LOVED them. I didn't have the full 8 apples...but I still used the same amount of red hots. They were red (not pink) in color and took less time to cook in the microwave. I could only eat a few pieces as they were VERY sweet. Next time I might omit (or at least lessen) the amount of sugar. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D89BUTTONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Great in place of raw apple snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States