Spiced Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I used 1/4 cup honey instead of sugar, soy milk in place of cow's milk, and whole wheat flour instead of all purpose. Anise is a flavor surprise that tastes great! These are heavy, dense muffins, the kind we like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Wow! These are fantastic! They came out moist and delicious. Very much like pound cake as some other reviewers said. That's what I was hoping for though! I was worried they'd be rubbery but they came out wonderfully. I left out the star anise since I detest it and subbed nutmeg. I think I'll add a little more spice next time though. That's just cause I like things really spicy! Thank you for an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
I made this recipe for my dad and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
MMMM, MMMM, YUMMY! These are the most scrumptious apple muffins I've ever tasted! They're so yummy and moist, I love the texture! They puffed up so nicely! I doubled the recipe and still only made 12, they're better this way. The more apples the better. Yum Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Excellent recipe. The anise seeds add such a special zip. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
These were pretty good, very moist. I left out the diced apple since it didn't appeal to me and the anise seed. The texture was a bit chewy and there wasn't very much flavor, but that might have been partially due to leaving out the diced apple. Next time I'll be sure to add more spices and maybe an egg. Other than that, these were terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaBanana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I made this as a loaf of bread instead of muffins. Pretty good, just a little bland, but I liked the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Pretty good - I added an egg. I think it needs a little more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
These muffins were tasty and good for you, they turned out perfect . I used canned apples and canned applesauce for my apples, turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JWHITESIDES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
These muffins turned out great. I was so happy to serve something different. Moist, flavorful, and just plain yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rei Rei

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Bradenville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States