Spiced Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
I really liked these muffins, though I made a few changes. I used whole-wheat flour and omitted the anise seeds and ginger, which I don't like. I halved the recipe and it made 6 small muffins that tasted really good! I'll make these again, but next time with baking soda to make them a little less dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
The anise seed is very strong and my first try came out tasting like black licorice muffins. The second time I replaced the anise seed with nutmeg and it tasted better. The texture is a little too chewy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
MMMM, MMMM, YUMMY! These are the most scrumptious apple muffins I've ever tasted! They're so yummy and moist, I love the texture! They puffed up so nicely! I doubled the recipe and still only made 12, they're better this way. The more apples the better. Yum Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
I made this recipe for my dad and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Although they tasted okay, I found them more like a pound cake then a muffin. I tried making them twice and they came out the same. I don't think I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
I looked up tis recipe on all recipes after going apple picking. Recipe was easy and was a great way to get my kids to eat apples. They freeze well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
I tried this recipe to see how nonfat muffins would turn out. Well it wasn't a big success. The texture isn't muffin-like at all. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
These muffins were awful. They were dense and the outside was chewy. They were also lacking flavor (which I don't believe was due to my leaving out the anise seed). I should have read the reviews first, but was in a hurry to make something to go with dinner and now I'm sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemaytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
I used whole wheat flour in this recipe. I also added a 1/4 cup of egg substitue (equiv. of one egg) to make them a bit lighter. I did not have any anise but put in the same measurement of apple pie spice. Next time I will add more spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Wow! These are fantastic! They came out moist and delicious. Very much like pound cake as some other reviewers said. That's what I was hoping for though! I was worried they'd be rubbery but they came out wonderfully. I left out the star anise since I detest it and subbed nutmeg. I think I'll add a little more spice next time though. That's just cause I like things really spicy! Thank you for an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States