Spiced Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
I really liked these muffins, though I made a few changes. I used whole-wheat flour and omitted the anise seeds and ginger, which I don't like. I halved the recipe and it made 6 small muffins that tasted really good! I'll make these again, but next time with baking soda to make them a little less dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
The anise seed is very strong and my first try came out tasting like black licorice muffins. The second time I replaced the anise seed with nutmeg and it tasted better. The texture is a little too chewy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
MMMM, MMMM, YUMMY! These are the most scrumptious apple muffins I've ever tasted! They're so yummy and moist, I love the texture! They puffed up so nicely! I doubled the recipe and still only made 12, they're better this way. The more apples the better. Yum Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
I made this recipe for my dad and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Although they tasted okay, I found them more like a pound cake then a muffin. I tried making them twice and they came out the same. I don't think I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
I looked up tis recipe on all recipes after going apple picking. Recipe was easy and was a great way to get my kids to eat apples. They freeze well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
I tried this recipe to see how nonfat muffins would turn out. Well it wasn't a big success. The texture isn't muffin-like at all. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
These muffins were awful. They were dense and the outside was chewy. They were also lacking flavor (which I don't believe was due to my leaving out the anise seed). I should have read the reviews first, but was in a hurry to make something to go with dinner and now I'm sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemaytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
I used whole wheat flour in this recipe. I also added a 1/4 cup of egg substitue (equiv. of one egg) to make them a bit lighter. I did not have any anise but put in the same measurement of apple pie spice. Next time I will add more spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Wow! These are fantastic! They came out moist and delicious. Very much like pound cake as some other reviewers said. That's what I was hoping for though! I was worried they'd be rubbery but they came out wonderfully. I left out the star anise since I detest it and subbed nutmeg. I think I'll add a little more spice next time though. That's just cause I like things really spicy! Thank you for an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States