Spiced Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I used 1/4 cup honey instead of sugar, soy milk in place of cow's milk, and whole wheat flour instead of all purpose. Anise is a flavor surprise that tastes great! These are heavy, dense muffins, the kind we like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I'm all about these muffins - but I also changed them... I added a bit more cinnamon, and didn't have their spices, so I added cloves and nutmeg instead and mmmmm. So good. They were a bit chewy on the outside, but not noticeably. Super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
These muffins turned out great. I was so happy to serve something different. Moist, flavorful, and just plain yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rei Rei

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Bradenville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Excellent recipe. The anise seeds add such a special zip. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Wish I had read reviews before I wasted my time and ingredients on these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rochester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
These muffins were awful. They were dense and the outside was chewy. They were also lacking flavor (which I don't believe was due to my leaving out the anise seed). I should have read the reviews first, but was in a hurry to make something to go with dinner and now I'm sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemaytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
I used half white flour, half whole wheat flour. These muffins turned out way too dense, and incredibly bland. I will NOT make these again, and would suggest that others looking for a good apple muffin recipie, pass this one up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
I used whole wheat flour in this recipe. I also added a 1/4 cup of egg substitue (equiv. of one egg) to make them a bit lighter. I did not have any anise but put in the same measurement of apple pie spice. Next time I will add more spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
I don't think this recipe is even worth ONE star. I followed the recipe exactly, and they didn't turn out at all. The bottoms of the muffins burned, and the inside was still mush. Maybe if it was baked at a lower temp, or if you just used a completely different recipe, it would work out. Don't use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
My roommates and I both liked these muffins. They were very chewy instead of greasy like a lot of muffins are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States