Spiced Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mavijac
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This is my recipe but changes have been made that make it more tedious than necessary. Simply mix the cake ingredients together until combined. No need for all the extra hassle; this recipe is forgiving. More dense than a coffee cake but just as delicious. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoffeeHeaven
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I made a few minor changes after reading the reviews. I used Ari's suggestions for flipping the cake, 2 tbl butter melted and poured into a spring form pan, sprinkle 1/2 c brown sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon over melted butter, place sliced apples in a spiral over cinnamon sugar mixture. I added the remaining apples, chopped small, to the batter (to which I also included 1/2 cup milk). Delicious recipe for early Fall and a great use for all those apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoffeeHeaven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
As others suggested, I split the sugar between white and brown. I added about 2/3 cup walnuts. I grated half the apples I put in, but they were looking like applesauce so I decided just to dice the rest. It was delish, but I had a very hard time getting it out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I followed recommendations of CoffeeHeaven(review Sept 29, 2013)and flipped the cake after putting the batter on top of melted butter,brown sugar, cinnamon and sliced apples. It looked lovely after it was baked. Also used remaining apples chopped in batter. I further followed recommendations and added 1/2 cup buttermilk. Cake was still very dry. I found the flavour rather bland. Maybe more cinnamon would have helped. If you make this cake, I strongly recommend at least 3/4 cup of milk into the batter. I can't imagine how dry it would be without the extra liquid. I rated it a 4 to be fair to the submitter. I think it's not a bad recipe, just not to my taste. Thanks mavijac
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
The flavor of this is really great, with the perfect balance of spices, but it turned out a bit dry for our taste. Followed the recipe exactly, and next time I will add a touch of milk, sour cream, or buttermilk to moisten up the cake batter. Be warned that when it says "spread" into the pan, it means it. This is a really dense cake batter. Will make again with minor changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
wonderful recipe! Very tasty! I had to add about 3/4 cup of milk. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very delicious! I also had to add milk, because I'm not a big fan of dense cake, and this had cookie dough consistency before adding milk. I also minced the apples and mixed them in instead so I could top the cake with a cinnamon coffee frosting (I love frosting!). Even my picky 6 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I loved this recipe, but it needs 3/4 cup of milk and the batter was still thick. I flipped the recipe and put 3 TBSP of melted butter into a 9x9 pan and sprinkled in 1/3 cup of brown sugar and 1 tsp of cinnamon then place in the sliced apples and place the batter over the top. After it bakes, flip the cake out of the pan so the cake is upside down. I mixed 2 cups of powdered sugar and 2 TBSP of milk and lightly drizzled the cake while still warm with the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
The cake tasted ok and the topping was great but the cake was so dry. I brought it to a coffee morning and not many people are it. I think if I ever make it again I will have to add the milk everyone says to. For now I will crumble it and make it a bread pudding or a custard for it. Maybe serve it with ice cream. Almost a waste of my time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia Spencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States