Spice Mix for Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I'm rating this recipe based on the spice mix, not the cooking method. I made the spice mix according to the directions, cutting the recipe in half. This was more than I needed for a package of two chicken boneless skinless breasts from Costco. I dredged the chicken in the mix and then fried it on stovetop with several tablespoons of olive oil. We thought it had a great flavor, but then I found myself wanting to dip it into a sauce---which happened to be my leftover salad dressing. My hubby said it was really good, but then he sopped up several pieces of the chicken in his salad dressing, too, without even noticing. So my guess is that a good dipping sauce is a good bet for this. I would definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe, Shauna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I really have no idea why everyone is comparing this recipe to KFC. KFC wasn't even around when fried chicken was invented. This is a Spice Mix FOR chicken, the recipe author DIDN'T state it was KFC's spice mix for chicken. Most reviewers are taste comparing this with a fast food chain's flavors, instead of basing their reviews on the flavor itself to chicken. The taste was pretty good. It bumped up a regular fried chicken recipe. I made it exactly as directed for my first batch. With my second batch, I added a little bit of poultry seasoning, sage, onion powder, marjoram, corriander and cumin. I'm giving 4 stars to the recipe because of the process of double cooking. I would prefer to do it once and be done, not add extra steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This was good, but not to die for. You can experiment with so many seasonings you will definitely come up with something that suits you eventually....It is a good base to start...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
i really didn't think this was anything special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIK_IT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
Not the best fried chicken recipe I've ever had. I added all the ingredients thinking it would be way too spicy, but actually, it was quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourfleed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
My friends and family love this recipe for fried chicken. I never did find savory, so I make it without it, but it is still delicious and after trying 10-15 other recipes, this one is our favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
We enjoyed the taste but it did not taste that much like KFC. I'll still use it again. It was good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Sumner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
THIS RECIPE TASTED NOTHING LIKE KFC. I GUESS I CONTINUE MY SEARCH PURCHASING EXPENSIVE SPICES AND NOT GETTING GREAT RESULTS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S_DARROUGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
If your expecting KFC chicken don't make this! My family ate it but none of us were overly impressed. This recipe has potential though. Personally I would leave out the savory next time this herb is way too strong for chicken. I may try this again but will definately adjust the herbs and spices more to our liking. Spice mixture will also stick to chicken better if you dip in plain flour then egg then spice mixture. I also double dipped in egg and spice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
My Husband was disappointed. Didn't taste at all like KFC. I rather go to KFC next time to get my fried chicken. Spices are expensive probably come out cheaper going to KFC! Beth Turney
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Onancock, Virginia, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Baked Split Chicken Breast

See how to make easy, juicy baked chicken with a delicious, crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States