Spice Cookies with Crystallized Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Very good. I did not crush with the glass and I added pumpkin spice hershey kisses when they were done. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Flavorful - soft - easy - a winner! I didn't have dark corn syrup on hand so I substituted the same amount of molasses. I also rolled them in turbinado sugar rather than white sugar or confectioners sugar which was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Recipes smells great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I made these cookies for a friend who loves crystallized ginger and I have to say that they were the most delicious-smelling cookies I ever made. I don't like spice cookies or crystallized ginger, but I thought they tasted delicious as well. Mine did not come out as puffy and soft looking as the picture. They were flatter and pretty crispy. However, they still tasted great. Maybe I flattened them too much before baking. Next time, I'll flatten them a little less and see how that works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Delicious! Used the brown sugar and whole egg suggested by other reviewers. Didn't have any cinnamon so I added 2 tspn of cardamom, and doubled the candied ginger. I baked them for only 9 minutes and they came out perfectly! Next time I'll keep the cardamom, add cinnamon, and maybe some small chocolate chips. This is going to be a standard recipe for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I made these for the office and they were devoured quickly. What I like about them is their tenderness inside and slight crunch on the outside and with so much flavor that sticks around after the cookie is gone. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Great foundation for a custom spice cookie. I added chocolate chips and they were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joelleberanek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lemont, Illinois, USA
Living In: Homer Glen, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was really yummy. I didn't have corn syrup so I used agave nectar. Also didn't use much sugar for decoration, the cookies were pretty sweet on their own. These are great tea cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
These are delicious, and pretty too! Following others' suggestions, I doubled the recipe, using a whole egg, half molasses and half light corn syrup, and raw sugar for decoration (omitted the confectioners' sugar because the cookies are sweet enough). A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Kids really like these! Not too sweet and not really too spicy. I only had uncrystallized candied ginger (Trader Joes - much cheaper) and rolled in turbinado sugar. Perfect "tea cookies".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States