Spice Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
Not my favorite. I found that the cake was very bland. Not enough spices,and tasted very eggie :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
It tasted good, but it looked scary when it was done. I don't think I beat the frosting enough, even though I did it for 40 minutes. So after I frosted the cake, it looked very frothy an hour later. Two 9" pans work well with this recipe, I would just use different frosting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Danvers, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
This must be good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This recipe was a failure. It smelled bette than it tasted. It didn't have enough taste to it. I thought it was bad, but maybe it's an aquired taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This cake is amazing! I have to admit, I've never made it with this frosting, I always use "Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting" found also on the wonderful website. I can't tell you how many times I've made it, for many different people, and it's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verdun, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I tried this recipe with the Cream Cheese Frosting II (basic) with 1 tsp cinnamon. It tastes really great with the extra spice added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I baked this cake for my Husband's birthday...It turned out great...I didn't need to add cornstarch...It also tasted like pumkin too....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ejmurphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I was really surprised when I found this recipe.. it's almost EXACTLY like the one I make. The only difference is I use 1 full teaspoon of all of the spices, and only two eggs. I also serve it with cream cheese frosting.. it's always gone over GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal River, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
The frosting would go nice on a regular cake but not like a bundt cake as shown, the frosting is creative but the cake tastes very bland. I agree witht he review that said it smells good when baking, the taste leaves a LOT to be desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lewdude
Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It came out flat so i figured id cut it in half and make a layered cake, and i tried a piece but did not care for the taste. I am a baker who prefers handful and dash to cup and teaspoon but i know spice cakes are tricky so i followed it EXACTLY. the only thing this recipe was good for was the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States